Skip to main content

The Academic Skills team: Home

Who we are and what we do

The Academic Skills team are specialist staff based in the University Library. Some are qualified librarians, some have teaching qualifications and some are IT and data consultants. Some are combinations of all three! Use our expertise to help you get to grips with:

  • Academic skills essential for success at University.
  • Learning tools such as the Assignment Survival Kit (ASK), Rebus reading lists online 
  • Library resources, research and referencing
  • Using IT software such as Microsoft Office effectively.
  • Information management issues such as copyright.

Have a look at the Meet the Team information below which may help you decide which person can assist with your particular need.

Meet the Academic Skills Team

Learning and Information Services Managers

Alison Pope


Learning & Information Services Manager
(Learning, Teaching and Learner Experience)

Thompson Library, Stoke

Tel:  01782 294317
a.j.pope@staffs.ac.uk

Vicki McGarvey


Learning & Information Services Manager
(Collection Management, Research & Digital Resources)

Thompson Library, Stoke

Tel:  01782 294560
vicki.mcgarvey@staffs.ac.uk

Support for School of Business, Leadership and Economics

Shaun Coates


Academic Skills Tutor (Librarian)
Thompson Library Stoke and 
Blackheath Lane Library
and IT Centre, Stafford

Tel:  01782 294590
s.coates@staffs.ac.uk

Lisa McDonagh


Academic Skills Tutor (Study Skills)
Thompson Library Stoke

Tel:  01782 422303
lisa.mcdonagh@staffs.ac.uk

Support for School of Computing and Digital Technologies

Sarah Hall


Academic Skills Tutor (Librarian)
Thompson Library, Stoke

Tel:  01785 353353
s.d.hall@staffs.ac.uk

Soo Plant


Academic Skills Tutor (Study Skills)
Thompson Library, Stoke

Tel:  01785 353500
s.plant@staffs.ac.uk

Support for School of Creative Arts and Engineering

Eleanor Johnston


Academic Skills Tutor (Librarian)

Thompson Library, Stoke

Tel:  01782 294809
e.johnston@staffs.ac.uk

Jane Ball


Academic Skills Tutor (Study Skills)

Thompson Library, Stoke

Tel:  01782 294988
j.ball@staffs.ac.uk

Support  for School of Health and Social Care

Kay Coverdale


Academic Skills Tutor (Librarian)
Blackheath Lane Library
and IT Centre, Stafford

Tel:  01785 353606
k.m.coverdale@staffs.ac.uk

Shaun Coates



Academic Skills Tutor (Librarian)
Thompson Library Stoke and 
Blackheath Lane Library
and IT Centre, Stafford

Tel:  01782 294590
s.coates@staffs.ac.uk

Liz Tomkinson


Academic Skills Tutor (Study Skills)
Thompson Library Stoke and 
Blackheath Lane Library
and IT Centre, Stafford

Tel:  01785 353288
e.tomkinson@staffs.ac.uk

Jane Ball - SOCIAL WORK ONLY


Academic Skills Tutor (Study Skills)

Thompson Library, Stoke

Tel:  01782 294988
j.ball@staffs.ac.uk

Support for School of Law, Policing and Forensics

Alison Pope


Learning & Information Services Manager

(Learning, Teaching and Learner Experience)
Thompson Library, Stoke

Tel:  01782 294317
a.j.pope@staffs.ac.uk

Lydia Bales


Academic Skills Tutor (Librarian)
Thompson Library Stoke

Tel:  01782 294123
lydia.bales@staffs.ac.uk

Lisa McDonagh


Academic Skills Tutor (Study Skills)
Thompson Library Stoke

Tel:  01782 422303
lisa.mcdonagh@staffs.ac.uk

Support for School of Life Sciences and Education

Paul Biggs


Academic Skills Tutor (Librarian)

Thompson Library, Stoke

Tel:  01782 294594
p.biggs@staffs.ac.uk

Angela Evans


Academic Skills Tutor (Study Skills)
Thompson Library, Stoke

Tel:  01782 295808
angela.evans@staffs.ac.uk

IT and Digital Capabilities Specialist

Julie Adams


Academic Skills Tutor (IT)
Expertise: Digital capabilities, IT training

Thompson Library, Stoke

Tel:  01782 294183
j.f.adams@staffs.ac.uk