Skip to main content

Academic Skills: A guide for staff 2017

Meet the Academic Skills Team

Learning and Information Services Managers

Alison Pope


Learning & Information Services Manager
(Learning, Teaching and Learner Experience)

Thompson Library, Stoke

Tel:  01782 294317
a.j.pope@staffs.ac.uk

Vicki McGarvey


Learning & Information Services Manager
(Collection Management, Research & Digital Resources)

Thompson Library, Stoke

Tel:  01782 294560
vicki.mcgarvey@staffs.ac.uk

Support for School of Business, Leadership and Economics

Shaun Coates


Academic Skills Tutor (Librarian)
Thompson Library Stoke and 
Blackheath Lane Library and IT Centre, Stafford

Tel:  01782 294590
s.coates@staffs.ac.uk

Lisa McDonagh

Academic Skills Tutor (Study Skills)
Thompson Library Stoke

Tel:  01782 292303
lisa.mcdonagh@staffs.ac.uk

Support for School of Computing and Digital Technologies

Sarah Hall


Academic Skills Tutor (Librarian)
Thompson Library, Stoke

Tel:  01785 353353
s.d.hall@staffs.ac.uk

Soo Plant


Academic Skills Tutor (Study Skills)
Thompson Library, Stoke

Tel:  01782 294741
s.plant@staffs.ac.uk

Support for School of Creative Arts and Engineering

Eleanor Johnston


Academic Skills Tutor (Librarian)

Thompson Library, Stoke

Tel:  01782 294809
e.johnston@staffs.ac.uk

Jane Ball


Academic Skills Tutor (Study Skills)

Thompson Library, Stoke

Tel:  01782 294988
j.ball@staffs.ac.uk

Support  for School of Health and Social Care

Kay Coverdale



Academic Skills Tutor (Librarian)
Blackheath Lane Library and IT Centre, Stafford

Tel:  01785 353606
k.m.coverdale@staffs.ac.uk

Liz Tomkinson



Academic Skills Tutor (Study Skills)
Thompson Library Stoke and 
Blackheath Lane Library and IT Centre, Stafford

Tel:  01785 353288
e.tomkinson@staffs.ac.uk

Shaun Coates


Academic Skills Tutor (Librarian)
Thompson Library Stoke and 
Blackheath Lane Library and IT Centre, Stafford

Tel:  01782 294590
s.coates@staffs.ac.uk

School for School of Law, Policing and Forensics

Alison Pope


Learning & Information Services Manager

(Learning, Teaching and Learner Experience)
Thompson Library, Stoke

Tel:  01782 294317
a.j.pope@staffs.ac.uk

Lydia Bales


Academic Skills Tutor (Librarian)
Thompson Library Stoke

Tel:  01782 294123
lydia.bales@staffs.ac.uk

Lisa McDonagh

Academic Skills Tutor (Study Skills)
Thompson Library Stoke

Tel:  01782 292303
lisa.mcdonagh@staffs.ac.uk

Support for School of Life Sciences and Education

Paul Biggs


Academic Skills Tutor (Librarian)

Thompson Library, Stoke

Tel:  01782 294594
p.biggs@staffs.ac.uk

Angela Evans


Academic Skills Tutor (Study Skills)
Thompson Library, Stoke

Tel:  01782 295808
angela.evans@staffs.ac.uk

IT and Digital Capabilities Specialist

Julie Adams


Academic Skills Tutor Digital Impact
Expertise: Digital capabilities, IT training

Thompson Library, Stoke

Tel:  01782 294183
j.f.adams@staffs.ac.uk