Skip to main content

UK Partner Colleges and Partner Institutions Library Support page: Finding material

This guide is intended for all those studying or working at Staffordshire University partner colleges, partner institutions and alternative providers

Useful information about library membership

As a member of one of our partnership institutions, if your course is an accredited Staffordshire University Course, you will be entitled to loan up to 17 items and have access to all electronic resources.

If your course is not accredited, but run by a partnership institution you can register with the library and take out up to two items only.

There are no more fines! Your books will renew automatically every two weeks. However, if a book is popular and another student requests it, you will receive an eMail asking you to bring the book back. If you don't, you will get a recall charge and this is £1 a day (excluding weekends).

Search Google Scholar

This page will show you how to configure Google Scholar to search across Staffordshire University resources for journal articles.

Accessing Library Materials

 

Please use the box to begin your search!

Your Study Skills contact

Select the links to access

Off-campus you will need to use your University Username and Password.

If you experience any problems please contact academicskills@staffs.ac.uk .

Arrangement of stock at Thompson Library

Books in the Thompson Library can be found in one of two places-the Core Collection and the Main Collection. This is clearly indicated on the library catalogue. In the Thompson Library the Core Collection runs over the ground and first floor. The Main Collection is located towards the back of the building on the ground floor.

Our Core Collection is for books that are essential reading while the Main Collection houses background reading. Please remember this when browsing the shelves as numbers are repeated in both collections.   

What are periodicals and why are they important?

As a student in higher education your tutors will be looking for evidence that you have used a wide range of resources in your studies.  Periodicals are one such resource.  They can provide up to date, specialised information on topics which are not always found in books.  There are three main types of periodical.

  • Academic Journals
  • Magazines - both general and professional
  • Newspapers

You must decide which is the best for your research.  Please contact academicskills@staffs.ac.uk if you have any problems locating journal articles or access one of your Subject Specific library guides to see how you can access periodicals electronically.

Search the Electronic Library

As well as printed books, we also have thousands of e books.  High quality academic texts that supplement our print collection.

The best collections in your area are:

Blackwell Reference Online

Dawsonera

Ebrary

EBSCO eBooks

Sometimes you hit lucky and find a chapter available free through Google books