.nav.navbar-nav.navbar-right li a { color: blue; } Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Copy of The Academic Skills team

Who we are and what we do

The Academic Skills Team is a group of expert and specialist staff based in the University Library and Learning Service. Some are qualified librarians, some have teaching qualifications and some are IT and data consultants. Some are combinations of all three! Use the Team's expertise to help you get to grips with:

  • Academic skills essential for success at University.
  • Library resources, research and referencing
  • Using software such as Microsoft Office effectively.
  • Information management issues such as copyright.

Look at the Meet the Team information below to decide which team member can best help you.

Meet the Academic Skills Team

Learning and Information Services Managers

Alison Pope


Library and Academic Skills Manager 

Thompson Library, Stoke

Tel:  01782 294317
a.j.pope@staffs.ac.uk

Vicki McGarvey


Resources and Library Systems Manager 


Thompson Library, Stoke

Tel:  01782 294560
vicki.mcgarvey@staffs.ac.uk

Support for Staffordshire Business School

Shaun Coates


Academic Skills Tutor (Librarian)
Thompson Library Stoke and 
Blackheath Lane Library
and IT Centre, Stafford

Tel:  01782 294590
s.coates@staffs.ac.uk

Angela Evans


Academic Skills Tutor (Study Skills)
Thompson Library, Stoke

Tel:  01782 295808
angela.evans@staffs.ac.uk

Support for School of Digital, Technologies and Arts (Computing and Digital Technologies, including eSports)

Sarah Hall


Academic Skills Tutor (Librarian)
Thompson Library, Stoke

Tel:  01785 353353
s.d.hall@staffs.ac.uk

Soo Plant


Academic Skills Tutor (Study Skills)
Thompson Library, Stoke

Tel:  01785 353500
s.plant@staffs.ac.uk

Support for School of Digital, Technologies and Arts (Creative Arts and Engineering)

Eleanor Johnston


Academic Skills Tutor (Librarian)

Thompson Library, Stoke

Tel:  01782 294809
e.johnston@staffs.ac.uk

Jane Ball


Academic Skills Tutor (Study Skills)

Thompson Library, Stoke

Tel:  01782 294988
j.ball@staffs.ac.uk

Support  for School of Health and Social Care

Kay Coverdale


Academic Skills Tutor (Librarian)
Blackheath Lane Library
and IT Centre, Stafford

Tel:  01785 353606
k.m.coverdale@staffs.ac.uk

Shaun Coates



Academic Skills Tutor (Librarian)
Thompson Library Stoke and 
Blackheath Lane Library
and IT Centre, Stafford

Tel:  01782 294590
s.coates@staffs.ac.uk

Liz Tomkinson


Academic Skills Tutor (Study Skills)
Thompson Library Stoke and 
Blackheath Lane Library
and IT Centre, Stafford

Tel:  01785 353288
e.tomkinson@staffs.ac.uk

Jane Ball - SOCIAL WORK ONLY


Academic Skills Tutor (Study Skills)

Thompson Library, Stoke

Tel:  01782 294988
j.ball@staffs.ac.uk

Support for School of Law, Policing and Forensics

Alison Pope


Library and Academic Skills Manager

Thompson Library, Stoke

Tel:  01782 294317
a.j.pope@staffs.ac.uk

Lydia Bales


Academic Skills Tutor (Librarian)
Thompson Library Stoke

Tel:  01782 294123
lydia.bales@staffs.ac.uk

Jane Ball


Academic Skills Tutor (Study Skills)

Thompson Library, Stoke

Tel:  01782 294988
j.ball@staffs.ac.uk

Support for School of Life Sciences and Education

Paul Biggs


Academic Skills Tutor (Librarian)

Thompson Library, Stoke

Tel:  01782 294594
p.biggs@staffs.ac.uk

Sarah Hall - EDUCATION ONLY


Academic Skills Tutor (Librarian)
Thompson Library, Stoke

Tel:  01785 353353
s.d.hall@staffs.ac.uk

Angela Evans


Academic Skills Tutor (Study Skills)
Thompson Library, Stoke

Tel:  01782 295808
angela.evans@staffs.ac.uk

IT and Digital Capabilities Specialist

Julie Adams


Academic Skills Tutor: Digital Impact
Expertise: Digital capabilities, IT training

Thompson Library, Stoke

Tel:  01782 294183
j.f.adams@staffs.ac.uk

 

Library Systems and Research Support Specialist

Sarah Beighton


 

 

 

 

 

Research And Digital Resources Librarian
Expertise: Library systems, eResource access, REF/STORE support

Thompson Library, Stoke

Tel:  01782 294770
Sarah.Beighton@staffs.ac.uk

 

Support for Staffordshire University London

Soo Plant

Soo Plant photo

Academic Skills Tutor (Study Skills)
Thompson Library, Stoke

Tel:  01785 353500
s.plant@staffs.ac.uk