Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

InfoZone

Our Library Collections

Each library has a Main Collection. Thompson Library in Stoke also houses the Art Collection and has a Core Collection of books in high demand; often books which are on module reading lists. There is a media collection in Thompson Library mainly for DVDs and CDs supporting film, TV and music students. When you find a book through Library Search or the Library Catalogue make sure you note the site, the collection and the call number so that you can locate the book.

library books on shelves students in library

Many resources are available electronically and can be accessed online 24/7.  There is more information on how to find these resources under the Getting started with your work section of InfoZone.

There is a Wellbeing Collection on each site, with resources to help you maintain a healthy balance between your studies, your home and your work life.

               

How to find the resources you need

You can search for a wide range of library resources such as books, eBooks and eJournals via the Library Search facility on the Library homepage.  Enter your search term in the box and click Go. This will search for both print and electronic resources that match your search term.

If you would like help searching for library resources, please visit the Help and Support section where there are details of how to make an appointment with your Subject Librarian.

If we don't stock what you need we can often access material via the British Library Document Supply Service. If you would like to take advantage of this you will first need to register for the service. 

Locating printed books

There are three steps to locating a book within the library:

1. Carry out a library search
Start from the Library Resources page and enter your search term.

2. Check the book's call number and location, and if it is available.

Make a note of the title, author and call number/class mark, and which collection the book is stored in.

 

 

 

 

The call number (or classmark) tells you exactly where the item will be located on the shelves. Each book has a call number on its spine.

3. Locate the book on the shelves
Use library signage to find your way around the Library to locate the shelf where the book you want is located. Each block of shelves tells you the numbers stored on that shelf. 

For example, if you were searching for call number 507.11, start by locating the 500s, then narrow your search to the 507s and so on.