Library: Cyber security (ARCHIVED): Finding articles

Searching for articles on computing topics

You should be able to access eResources by following the links below and logging on with your usual Staffordshire University username and password (the details you use to logon to BlackBoard). If you need help accessing eResources there is help on the web site under eResources FAQ and eResources Help and advice
Full text articles that can be viewed, saved and printed using:

ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The full-text database includes the complete collection of ACM's publications, including journals, conference proceedings, magazines, newsletters, and multimedia titles.
Link: http://ezproxy.staffs.ac.uk/login?url=http://portal.acm.org/dl.cfm
Computer Database This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from more than 800 journals and periodicals, from Computerworld, eWeek and Wired to PC Magazine, PC World and Computer Weekly. Formerly known as Infotrac.
Link: http://ezproxy.staffs.ac.uk/login?url=http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/staffordshire?db=CDB
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Full text to the majority of the publications from IEEE . Includes thousands of articles and the IEEE/IET Electronic Library (IEL)
ScienceDirect - Elsevier This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect is a leading database of peer-reviewed science, technology and health information trusted by researchers, teachers and students around the globe.
Link: https://auth.elsevier.com/ShibAuth/institutionLogin?entityID=https%3A%2F%2Fshibboleth.staffs.ac.uk%2Fidp%2Fshibboleth&appReturnURL=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.sciencedirect.com/science/search
Alternative Link: Back up Login link

ScienceDirect Freedom Collection (pre-2000 subscribers):2012-2016:Year 3 - NESLi2
Statista
Statista.com is a leading provider of market and consumer data. It consolidates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources and content includes statistics, reports, outlooks and infrographics for a wide range of industries.

eResources FAQs and Help and advice

What are journals and why are they important?

As a student in higher education your tutors will be looking for evidence that you have used a wide range of resources in your studies. Journals are one such resource. They can provide up to date, specialised information on topics which are not always found in books. There are two main types of journal.

Academic Journals for example:

International Journal of Web Information Systems

Trade, general and professional magazines for example:

IT Now
PC World

Journal titles for computer science and information technology

A link to some full text journal titles for computer science and IT

Looking for a journal by title?

Use the link to the eJournals A-Z to search for an eJournal title. When you have found the journal you want you can search within it for articles.

A-Z list of eJournals

Search Google Scholar

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.

Linking Google Scholar to your University account