Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Electrical, Electronic, Mechatronics & Telecommunications Engineering

Finding Books

  

 

Alternatively you can search the Library Catalogue for books held in the library.

Locate module reading lists online and follow links to print and eBooks

Borrowing Information

You are entitled to borrow up to 17 items. Your library items will now renew automatically every 2 weeks, up to 12 times. We only charge library fines if you have an item out that another student requires. The item will be recalled and a charge will be made if this is not returned when requested. Otherwise we will automatically renew your items.

Postal Loans Service

For Distance Learners and other Staffordshire University students who are based in the UK but who can't easily visit one of our site Libraries, we offer a Postal Loans service.

Books in the Thompson Library can be found in the Core Collection, the Main Collection and the Art Collection. This is clearly indicated on the library catalogue. 

Our Core Collection is for non-art books that are essential reading while the Main Collection houses non-art background reading, journals (current issues and back copies) and DVDs. Please remember this when browsing the shelves, as numbers are repeated in both collections.   

You will find the Core Collection numbers 000 - 499 near the front of the Library on the Ground Floor.  By walking through this collection and up the ramp, you will come to the Main Collection. Core Collection books numbered 500 - 699 and 800 - 999 are to be found on the first floor.

Engineering books are available to borrow in Thompson Library, Stoke.
Some shelf numbers to help you find books in the library

Subject Shelf number
Electronics industry 338.476213
Engineering maths 510.2462
MATLAB 519.402462
Engineering design 620.0042
Computer aided design (CAD) 620.00420285
Electrical engineering 621.3
Circuits 621.3192
Electronics 621.381
Telecommunications engineering       621.3822
Robotics 629.892