Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Reading Lists Online training guide

Adding items using Library Search

Once you have created a reading list and divided it in to the sections you wish to use, you can start adding content. You might find it helpful to watch this video before going further.

To add content directly from the Library catalogue.

  • Click on add items+
  • Chose Library search from the options on the far right of the screen.
  • You will then see the search options which you usually get when using Library search. You have the option to search across everything, just within the University catalogue, for online items only or for printed items only.
  • Enter your search criteria or terms.
  • Leave the tick in place if wish to include items without full text access in your search. (Note that you would need to make a purchase request for that type of content, but it can indicate to you a wider rnage of material that is available.)

 

Adding items using Cite It! tool

The Cite it! bookmarklet tool is useful if you are searching on the internet and see a resource you would like to add to your Collection or directly into a reading list e.g. Youtube video.

The tool embeds into your browsers bookmarks bar allowing for quick and easy access, by clicking on the tool button whilst on the webpage the tool can harvest the data from that page creating a resource link. The tool also checks resources against the Libraries holdings, e.g. journal articles and confirms if the library already has access to the resource thus enabling better linking and support from the library. 

To understand how to add the special Leganto Cite it! tool to your toolbar and how to find materials using this option, please view this video on Cite it! from ExLibris

Adding websites without Cite it!

The Cite It! tool will retrieve available data from websites (not PDFs) and use that information to add resources to a list.

When Cite It! won't retrieve website data as expected, there are a few possible solutions.

  1. Open another tab in your browser and log into Leganto. You will need to be logged into Leganto for the Cite It! tool to work consistently.
  2. Make sure that you have enabled Leganto pop-ups and cookies in your browser.
  3. Clear your cache.
  4. Delete the Cite It! icon from your browser bookmarks and reinstall it. 

If Cite It! still won’t successfully retrieve website data, you can add the resources manually.

  • Log into Leganto and open your reading list
  • Click Add items button
  • Select the Blank Form option
  • Choose Website under the Type drop down list
  • Complete as many of the information fields as you can about the site you are adding

Adding items from My Collection

My Collection as an are a within Leganto where you can collect citations to add to your lists. This is useful if you are creating more than one reading list where core titles are key reading matter for all the modules. Think of My Collection as an online bookshelf in your office or study.  

You can add content to My Collection from within Leganto or you can sign into the Library Search discovery tool (Primo) and add items of interest to your list of favourites using the pin option.

When you are creating a reading list in Leganto, this list of pinned favourites will appear as your own individual My Collection, viewable in the right hand side of your screen.

If you open My Collection up you can drag and drop individual titles from My collection into specific sections of your reading list.

See the section of this guide on Using My Collection for more details.

Adding items manually

 Using the blank form option

You will need to do this if you wish to add new and previously unpurchased resources to your reading list. You also need to use this option if you want to request a new edition of an existing title on your list.  You will also need to use the blank form if you wish to create a digitised course pack. See the linked guide on how to do this below.

To use the blank form option on Leganto, navigate to your reading list and select the blue ‘Add items’ button on the left. A new menu will appear on the left; select the option entitled blank form. Fill in the information you know about the resource, remembering to select a source type from the options provided (e.g. article, website) and complete the copyright information with known details if applicable to the resource you are linking to. When adding the resource URL (link) to the form, remember to click the ‘add source’ button after pasting the link; you can add multiple links to the same form. Select where in your reading list you would like the external resource to be displayed and remember to press save when finished.

Please remember that information completed will be visible to all list users when published and external resources must comply with copyright regulations.

New book requests

To make a new book request, you will need to fill in the details you know about the resource on a blank form (see above for instructions on using the blank form option).  New book requests includes new editions of existing titles - it is your responsibility to check if these are needed as new editions are not purchased automatically,

As a minimum, the details needed to purchase a new resource are: 

  • Author
  • Title
  • Edition 
  • Publisher 
  • ISBN 

While completing the form, you can also add the title to the desired section of your reading list (e.g. week 1). Remember to click 'Add' or 'Add and close' at the bottom of the form when you have finished. 

Blank form in Leganto screenshot

Each new item now needs to be tagged. See the instructions here on how to tag resources in your reading list. Items you wish to be purchased must be tagged as 'Essential' and 'Purchase request'. 

Note: If you are requesting the purchase of a new edition for an existing title then please select the 'New Edition' tag as well.

To finish the process, click 'Library review'. This will then send the details via citation purchase request to Alma operators. 

New article requests

To make a new article request, you will need to fill in the details you know about the resource on a blank form (see above for instructions on using the blank form option). As a minimum, the details needed to purchase a new resource are: 

  • Author
  • Article title
  • Journal title 
  • Volume
  • Year of publication 
  • Page range

While completing the form, you can also add the title to the desired section of your reading list (e.g. week 1). Remember to click 'Add' or 'Add and close' at the bottom of the form when you have finished. 

Blank form in Leganto screenshot

Each new item now needs to be tagged. See the instructions here on how to tag resources in your reading list. Items you wish to be purchased must be tagged as 'Essential' and 'Purchase request'. 

To finish the process, click 'Library review'. This will then send the details via citation purchase request to Alma operators. Items will be fulfilled either by copyright fee paid via The British Library or (if applicable) purchasing the book and uploading the chapter via the DCS link; this will be determined by the costs for each option. 

Digitisation requests

Some items that are supplied by the library in print only can have sections digitised, both for convenience and to allow more students to access the resource at the same time. 

First, add the item to your reading list, following the instructions above to add new items to your reading list.

Leganto screenshot showing a book and the option to request digitisation of the title

When you have found the title, you will see information from the CLA about the resource; the scanning section will give you a good indication of if scanning for digitisation is allowed. 

Leganto screenshot showing example of CLA information for digitisation 

Once you have checked the CLA information, select the digitisation request button and complete the page range and chapter information as required and click submit. Once approved, the link will be added to the reading list from the DCS. 

Leganto screenshot of digitisation request form

Access via Reading Lists Online webpage

To find an existing list directly in Leganto, access the Leganto site here: https://libstaff.alma.exlibrisgroup.com/leganto/readinglist/lists?auth=SAML

From this page you can search for your list by course code or by list/module title. Once you find the desired list, click the title to access it.