Skip to main content

Special Collections, Staffordshire University: Home

An introduction to Special Collections

Enquiries

For general enquiries about Special Collections please contact:

email academicskills@staffs.ac.uk 
or 
telephone 01782 295770

Address:

Special Collections, Thompson Library, Staffordshire University, College Rd, Stoke on Trent, ST4 2DE

Extent

Collections celebrating or relating to Staffordshire, the City of Stoke-on-Trent, the University, Industry, social and political history and leisure.

Using the Special Collections

Special Collections is open to members of the University and also members of the public. Access to the collections is by appointment only. Special Collections can be found on the Ground Floor of The Thompson Library, with the exception of The Rare Books Collection, which is on the 1st Floor.

University members
Bring your University registration card which will be retained by us while you are in Special Collections.

Visitors
Contact Special Collections to notify us of your intention to visit. You will require some form of identification such as a library card, drivers licence, passport, or addressed utility bill.

Borrowing
Material is for reference only.

Photocopying
A limited amount of material may be photocopied whilst supervised by a member of staff.

Conditions
Only pencils may be used in the department and are supplied to users.

Victoria Theatre Archive

What's in the Victoria Theatre Collection?

The Victoria Theatre Collection is an important and extensive resource for Researchers, Theatre and Social Historians and Postgraduate students. The theatre production, documentary research and community work carried out by Peter Cheeseman's, internationally famous, Victoria Theatre Company between 1962 and 1998 has been meticulously recorded, archived and preserved over four decades.

The documents, photographs and tape-recordings contained within the collection offer unique research opportunities, unparalleled by other theatre archive collections.

Layout of Special Collections

The map below shows the location of the material for each of our Special Collections.