Library: Esports : Databases, Journals and Articles

Resources for Esports

The Library provides a wide range of resources to support you in your research.

Databases are one of the best types of resource to get familiar with.

We use the term ‘database’ to describe a searchable collections of online resources which contain items such as journal articles, books, and images. Using the databases recommended for your subject will help you find reliable information from trusted sources.

What are Articles, Journals and Databases and why are they important?

As a student in higher education your tutors will be looking for evidence that you have used a wide range of resources in your studies. Journals are one such resource. They can provide up to date, specialised information on topics which are not always found in books. There are two main types of journal.

Academic Journals for example:

International Journal of Web Information Systems

Trade, general and professional magazines for example:

IT Now
PC World

It is useful to understand how articles, journals and databases fit together,

Databases for ESports

Recommended Databases

Statista
Statista.com is a leading provider of market and consumer data. It consolidates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources and content includes statistics, reports, outlooks and infrographics for a wide range of industries.
Mintel This link opens in a new window
Mintel Marketing Reports - key trends and statistics in the following UK Market sectors:
- Automotive
- Beauty and Personal
- Business: Services
- Drink
- Food
- Leisure
- Retail: Clothing and Footwear
- Retail: Home
- Retail: Overview
- Technology
- Travel
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Many full text articles covering all areas of business.

*Please Note if the above link is not working try this alternative link
(however the alternative link will not give you access to your saved searches)
Login link: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=shib&custid=s7383539&profile=ehost&defaultdb=bth

Alternative link: http://ezproxy.staffs.ac.uk/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=bth
Computer Database This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from more than 800 journals and periodicals, from Computerworld, eWeek and Wired to PC Magazine, PC World and Computer Weekly. Formerly known as Infotrac.
Link: http://ezproxy.staffs.ac.uk/login?url=http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/staffordshire?db=CDB
ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The full-text database includes the complete collection of ACM's publications, including journals, conference proceedings, magazines, newsletters, and multimedia titles.
Link: http://ezproxy.staffs.ac.uk/login?url=http://portal.acm.org/dl.cfm
Kanopy
Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video platform that offers films and documentaries. Find movies, documentaries, foreign films, classic cinema, independent films and educational videos.

Login information:

- On the Kanopy page click the large orange "Log In to Staffs" button.

- On the page that follows, click on "Log In to Staffs" one more time.

- If prompted login with your normal credentials

If viewing via a mobile or tablet after you will need to create a Kanopy account and download the Kanopy App. Please see the information provided here: https://help.kanopy.com/en-us/4213.htm (link opens in new window)