Library: Music and Sound: Databases, journals and articles

Resources

The Library provides a wide range of resources to support you in your research.

Databases are one of the best types of resource to get familiar with.

We use the term ‘database’ to describe a searchable collection of online resources which contains items such as journal articles, books, and images. Using the databases recommended for your subject will help you find reliable information from trusted sources.

Recommended databases for music and sound

Art Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles in the Arts generally, many of which are full text.

*Please Note if the above link is not working try this alternative link
(however the alternative link will not give you access to your saved searches)
Login link: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=shib&custid=s7383539&profile=ehost&defaultdb=aft

Alternative link: http://ezproxy.staffs.ac.uk/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=aft
Arts & Humanities Database This link opens in a new window
Large collection of articles and ejournals in the Art, Design and Humanities subject area. Formerly known as Arts and Humanities Full-Text.
Link: http://search.proquest.com/artshumanities/shibboleth?accountid=17254
Alternative link: http://ezproxy.staffs.ac.uk/login?url=http://search.proquest.com/artshumanities/accountid=17254
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This is an archival database of full text scholarly articles. There are no current journals within JSTOR but there is a wealth of material for retrospective research.
Login Link: https://shibboleth2sp.jstor.org/Shibboleth.sso/Login?entityID=https%3A%2F%2Fshibboleth.staffs.ac.uk%2Fidp%2Fshibboleth&target=https%3A%2F%2Fshibboleth2sp.jstor.org%2Fshib%3Fdest%3Dhttp%253A%252F%252Fwww.jstor.org%252Fshibboleth

Alternative login: http://ezproxy.staffs.ac.uk/login?url=http://www.jstor.org
Kanopy
Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video platform that offers films and documentaries. Find movies, documentaries, foreign films, classic cinema, independent films and educational videos.

Login information:

- On the Kanopy page click the large orange "Log In to Staffs" button.

- On the page that follows, click on "Log In to Staffs" one more time.

- If prompted login with your normal credentials

If viewing via a mobile or tablet after you will need to create a Kanopy account and download the Kanopy App. Please see the information provided here: https://help.kanopy.com/en-us/4213.htm (link opens in new window)
Performing Arts Database This link opens in a new window
Provides the full text of current articles from over 100 journals, including American Theatre, Dance Chronicle,Dance Teacher, Theatre Journal, Theatre Survey, Opera News and more. Formerly known as International Index to Performing Arts (IIPA)
Statista
Statista.com is a leading provider of market and consumer data. It consolidates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources and content includes statistics, reports, outlooks and infrographics for a wide range of industries.

Looking for a particular journal title?

Use this link to search for an e journal title

Journals A to Z

Once you have found the journal you want you can search within it for articles.