Library: Chartered Manager Degree Apprenticeship: Databases, journals and articles

Resources for Accounting and Finance

The Library provides a wide range of resources to support you in your research.

Databases are one of the best types of resource to get familiar with.

We use the term ‘database’ to describe a searchable collections of online resources which contain items such as journal articles, books, and images. Using the databases recommended for your subject will help you find reliable information from trusted sources.

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Many full text articles covering all areas of business.

*Please Note if the above link is not working try this alternative link
(however the alternative link will not give you access to your saved searches)
Login link: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=shib&custid=s7383539&profile=ehost&defaultdb=bth

Alternative link: http://ezproxy.staffs.ac.uk/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=bth
Emerald Management ejournal collection This link opens in a new window
Contains over 100 leading business and management journals. Subject coverage includes marketing and logistics, operations and production management, human resource management, accounting, economics and finance.
ScienceDirect - Elsevier This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect is a leading database of peer-reviewed science, technology and health information trusted by researchers, teachers and students around the globe.
Link: https://auth.elsevier.com/ShibAuth/institutionLogin?entityID=https%3A%2F%2Fshibboleth.staffs.ac.uk%2Fidp%2Fshibboleth&appReturnURL=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.sciencedirect.com/science/search
Alternative Link: Back up Login link

ScienceDirect Freedom Collection (pre-2000 subscribers):2012-2016:Year 3 - NESLi2
IBISWorld
IBISWorld is a comprehensive industry and market research database firm that provides information and analysis on more than 700 industries worldwide.
Statista
Statista.com is a leading provider of market and consumer data. It consolidates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources and content includes statistics, reports, outlooks and infrographics for a wide range of industries.

Newspapers - Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Global Newsstream enables users to search the most recent global news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring content from newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format. This product provides one of the largest collections of news from the US, Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. All titles are cross-searchable on the ProQuest platform allowing researchers easy access to multiple perspectives, resources, and languages on the topic they are researching.
Includes European Newstream as well.
Coverage: 1980 - current
Link: http://search.proquest.com/europeannews/shibboleth?accountid=17254
Business and Management Collection (HS Talks)
Online lectures by leading experts in various business and management disciplines. Alongside viewing the recorded lectures, users can download the slides as pdfs. Teachers can link to a talk from various learning management systems. Suitable for distant and independent learning.

The collection is organized in categories and topic areas with altogether over 1,400 lectures, case studies and interviews. New presentations are constantly becoming available.
Mintel This link opens in a new window
Mintel Marketing Reports - key trends and statistics in the following UK Market sectors:
- Automotive
- Beauty and Personal
- Business: Services
- Drink
- Food
- Leisure
- Retail: Clothing and Footwear
- Retail: Home
- Retail: Overview
- Technology
- Travel
Kanopy
Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video platform that offers films and documentaries. Find movies, documentaries, foreign films, classic cinema, independent films and educational videos.

Login information:

- On the Kanopy page click the large orange "Log In to Staffs" button.

- On the page that follows, click on "Log In to Staffs" one more time.

- If prompted login with your normal credentials

If viewing via a mobile or tablet after you will need to create a Kanopy account and download the Kanopy App. Please see the information provided here: https://help.kanopy.com/en-us/4213.htm (link opens in new window)

Finding Journals and articles

Use this link to find a comprehensive list of accounting journals

Use this link to find a comprehensive list of finance journals