Mining 100

As might be expected being centred in a region with the coal mining industry integral to its growth and success, the Mining Institute library based in Stoke-on-Trent subscribed to many early scientific and engineering journals. The Archive still holds a number of these.

In a bound collection of the Mining Review dating from 1825 we can see a section devoted to the discussion of new patents to support scientific advancements over 200 years ago. Seeing now famous and historic Industrial Revolution developments being discussed as current news items gives a fascinating perspective. Pages 329 onwards relate the difficulties being encountered in the creation of the Thames Tunnel. Mr Marc Brunel is being helped in his endeavours by Mr. Trevithick. 

Figure 1:  Extract from the Mining Review in 1825 covering the Thames tunnel

Figure 2:  Further extract from the Mining Review in 1825 covering the Thames tunnel

• For more information on Mr. Marc Brunel see Thames Tunnel
• For more information on Mr. Trevithick see Richard Trevithick

Other pages in the 1825 volume (not pictured here) discuss the subject of steam engines and the then novel work of Mr. Watt and Mr. Boulton . 

For more information on this topic see Boulton and Watt engine

The next section focuses on how the Mining Institute in its various guises supported the development of innovative and lifesaving inventions.

Mining has seen many innovations. Some of these innovations have been large scale and far-reaching while others have been less high-profile but nevertheless contributed to safety and productivity.

The publication “Engineering Vol XC 1910 (July to December)” has an article about an improved form of fireman’s lamp.  The fireman (or ‘Deputy’ as they are called today) is responsible for safety underground.  The article states that “proprietors of coal mines are under a statutory liability to see that they are practically free from explosive gas before the men are allowed to descend each day.  This is delegated to the firemen…..….the means by which the proportion of gas is tested is the usual miner’s safety lamp.  When the gas is present there appears over the flame of the lamp what is technically known as a ‘cap,’ and the greater the proportion of gas the longer and brighter is this cap.”  

“With the improved ventilation which is now possible in mines the proportion of gas in the atmosphere grows steadily less, and it is very often below the limits which it can be detected by the ordinary miner’s lamp.  In order to increase the sensitiveness of this instrument, Sir Henry Cunyghame, of the Home Office, and Professor Cadman of the University of Birmingham, have recently brought out an improved form of fireman’s lamp which will detect a very much smaller percentage of gas than has been hitherto possible by such means.”

The Cunyghame-Cadman modification is “a strip of uralite [as shown in the photographs] which has previously been soaked in a soda solution [e.g. sodium bicarbonate.  The sodium content of the solution increases the brightness and luminosity of the flame when it comes into contact with it].  This strip is mounted on a rotating arm in such a way that it can be turned so as to enter the flame.  Immediately it does this, the cap (if there be one) brightens up, and becomes far more visible than it was before.”

“Many experiments have been made practically with this lamp, and it has been found that it always answers its purpose perfectly, calling attention to the gas, however small may be the amount.  There is thus placed in the hands of coal-owners another instrument by which safety of their men can be assured, and which will aid in rendering the already diminishing death-roll from explosions of gas still less than at present.  In conclusion, we may state that the device above described has not been patented, but has been placed freely at the disposal of those interested in coal-mining.”

Figure 3: Scan of page from journal Engineering showing the Cunynghame-Cadman fireman's lamp

Protective equipment of various kinds is used throughout the coal industry.  In a feature on hand protection from “The National Association of Colliery Managers Transactions Vol XXXI 1934” Staffordshire miners have been photographed wearing a form of glove which protects the back of the hand but allows the fingers to be unfettered. 

Figure 4: Photograph from The National Association of Colliery Managers Transactions showing hand protectors being worn

 

Figure 5: Photograph from The National Association of Colliery Managers Transactions showing miner wearing hand protectors while drilling

The article also states that “where ‘youths’ who saw to the loading of tubs at conveyor ends were supplied with strong leather gloves to protect their fingers against falling pieces of coal….there was immediate economic impact since the average weight per tub could be increased.”    It goes on to say “The value of hand protection lay in the fact that such injuries numbered over 40,000 per year, very many of which could be avoided.”  

A photograph and a book.  All we have in the Mining Archive that relates to Mr D. Le Jeune are these two items.  No other information exists about him.  And yet, for a period of time (probably sometime in the 1950s/60s) he was the head of the Mining School.  He obviously had a passion for education, even a flair for it.

Figure 6: Photograph of Mr D Le Jeune

His book  “MINING MACHINERY AND TRANSPORT”, was  published in 1959 by VIRTUE ANDCOMPANY LIMITED, LONDON.  It is a textbook for the mining student and is part of a series of educational volumes by that publisher which include:

• PRACTICAL COAL MINING by 18 contributors, each expert in his own subject
• ELECTRICITY by H.F.Banks, M.I.Min.E,. A.R.I.C.S., Certified Colliery Manager
• SURVEYING by J.L.Holland, A.R.I.C.S., Certified Mine Surveyor; K. Wardell, F.R.I.C.S., M.I.Min.E., Certified Mine Surveyor; A.G.Webster, A.R.I.C.S., A.M.I.MIN.E. ,Certified Mine Surveyor
• MECHANICAL ENGINEERING by T.R.Banard, M.I.Min.E, ,Certified Colliery Manager,

Figure 7: Frontpiece for Mimning Machinery and rtransport bu Mr Le Jeune

Mr Le Jeune B.Sc. is in good company, for he too is a Member of the Institute of Mining Engineers (M.I.Min.E.) and a Certified Colliery Manager.

The book gives a comprehensive account of the main types of colliery machinery and covers:

• Introductory considerations on the application of machinery
• Drills
• Coal-cutters
• Loaders
• Getter-loaders
• Roof support machinery
• General transport considerations
• Locomotives
• Rope haulages
• Cars, tracksandcontrol equipment
• Conveyors
• Miscellaneous equipment
• Care of machinery

Each category is broken down into the main types of machinery for that category e.g. COAL-CUTTERS covers: Longwall Coal-cutters – Cutter Chains – Cutter Picks – Sequence and Pattern – Cutting Horizn- Gummers- Gum-stowers – Controls – Wet Cutting – Modifications of the Longwall Coal-cutter – Special Purpose Jibs – Turrets – Longwall and Shortwall Cutting Operations – Shortwall Coal-cutters – Heading Machines – Arcwallers – Arcshearers – Lubrication

In order to reinforce the focus on learning, knowledge understanding and retention the end of each chapter contains a set of exercises relating to that chapter.  

The LOCOMOTIVE chapter for example has seven exercises, one of which is:
“A mine locomotive weighs 8 tons, all of its wheels are driven, the coefficient of adhesion between wheel and rail is 0.2 and the overall rolling friction of the locomotive and mine cars is 0.02.  Assuming that there is ample power, calculate (i) the maximum tractive effort, (ii) the maximum drawbar pull on a level track and (iii) the acceleration up a gradient of 1 in 200 when hauling a total load of 40 tons behind the locomotive.

The ROPE HAULAGE chapter for example has eight exercises, one of which is:
“Calculate the horse-power necessary for the following main-and-tail rope haulage: duty, 120 tons/h; average speed, 10 miles/h; distance ½ mile; changing time 2min at each end; capacity of tubs , 1 ton each; weight of tubs, ½ ton each; gradient, 1 in 40 against the load; tub and rope friction, 1/40; main-rope weight, 3lb/yd and tail-rope weight, 2lb/yd.  allow 50 percent additional power to cover efficiency of haulage gear and acceleration.”

The publisher’s editorial preface to the book states:
“Each book is intended to cover its subject up to the standard required by the Ministry of Power and set by the Mining Qualifications Board for the highest appropriate qualifications.  The general principles of each subject and its application to mining are treated up to the level and cover the scope of the relevant examinations of the professional bodies concerned and of the mining departments of schools and colleges.”
“A great feature of the series is the relative simplicity of the excellent and numerous illustrations with their useful descriptive matter........Students will derive considerable help from the worked example, the exercises.....and the bibliographies designed to guide them in specialised studies.”
As if to reinforce his commitment to education Mr Le Jeune states in the Author’s Preface “The Author believes that there will be found set out in these pages much that is of value to students on ‘national’ and ‘general’ courses and to others who are interested in machinery associated with the mining and transport of coal.”

The Mining Archive holds a seemingly inconsequential photocopied document about this activity, namely “Pump Packing Developments at Hem Heath Colliery” by D.W. Nixon and P.S. Mills.  Mr Nixon was a Technical Assistant at Hem Heath Colliery and Mr Mills was a Research Worker at the Mining Research and Development Establishment (MRDE).  The MRDE’s function was research into and testing of mining equipment and procedures.

Figure 8: Scan of the title of an article on pump packing by D W Nixon and P S Mills

A significant problem in many mines is spontaneous combustion (i.e. a self-generated breakout of fire) where coal seams have been worked.  This can have severe effects in terms of the loss of coal production, in some cases resulting in the sealing off of “districts” with the loss of expensive equipment.  One way of reducing the incidence of spontaneous combustion is by filling the areas where this is likely to happen with material which acts as a barrier.

The synopsis of Nixon and Mills’s paper is:

“The paper outlines the experience gained with pump packing at Hem Heath Colliery and compares the different systems and types of equipment.  One promising new technique uses cement and water without any addition of aggregate for which the name ‘Aquapak’ has been used.  This is discussed and the results obtained for Winghay 403’s [a coal face at Hem Heath] are assessed.  The conclusions examine the benefits to be derived from the Aquapak system and future considerations.”

The paper states that Hem Heath works a number of seams which are liable to spontaneous combustion, namely the Great Row, Ten Feet, Yard Ragman and Winghay.  In the mid-1970s the colliery began to use heavy-duty equipment and was installing its first Advanced Technology Mining coal face (ATM is based on the concept of equipping faces with the best proven basic coal face machinery and adding to it one step at a time other proven refinements so that eventually the optimum output is obtained from coal faces – Colliery Guardian Journal July 1977)

It was into this environment that ‘pump packing’ was introduced.  As a simple explanation ‘pump packing’ is filling a bag or sack with a kind of concrete mixture which can then be used to fill specific voids in the coal faces.  The paper details the various tests, trials and implementations undertaken, looking at the practicalities, feasibility, materials, manpower and costs of the systems.

The photographs below illustrate part of the process - setting up the mesh to hold the pump-packing bags, and the roadway side

Figure 9:  Photograph form The Mining Engineer showing the preparation of the mesh containing cage

 

Figure 10: Photograph showing the roadway side of the a coal seam with the bags behind the mesh in Hem Heath’s Winghay 403 seam.

The paper outlines the advantages of the ‘Aquapak’ system which include:

simplicity of operations (this is the greatest advantage)

simple and unsophisticated equipment giving rise to easier maintenance and reliability

a good seal to limit the liability to spontaneous combustion (the pack itself is also made from non-flammable material)

a definite application to rapidly advancing thick seam extractions

competitive cost-wise with other methods of packing

pumping life of the grout is extended

flexibility to cover the coal/Packbind system

the system can be made readily available to the industry (because of the simple manufacture and ready availability of the source materials)

In December 1979 Nixon and Mills presented the paper at the General Meeting of the North Staffs Branch of the Institution of Mining Engineers held at the North Staffordshire Polytechnic [formerly the North Staffordshire Mining Institute and precursor of Staffordshire University].  They then presented it, in May 1980, to the Annual Conference of the Institution of Mining Engineers at Scarborough.

The paper is documented in the “Mining Engineer Vol 140 1980-81 pp645-652”.

It is also interesting that this paper has been referenced by other engineers looking at similar problems e.g. (in the USA) Barczak and Tadolini – “Pumpable Roof Supports”; and (in Australia) Bradby and Brown – “Rock Mechanics for Underground Mining”.