Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Unlimited: Diversity in reading lists

Finding resources in our collections

We are currently creating a Library unlimited reading list which will lead you to resources focusing on how to diversify the content and reading list of your modules.

  • Diversifying your library
    Currently a reading list comprising a range of 45 books recommended by colleagues and students- curated by Zoe Whitmore, Level 6, History student; more titles being added

Library and Learning Services has devoted £30,000 to this equality and inclusion project. £10, 000 is to be spent in each of the academic years 2020/21,  2021/22 and 2022/23. 

If you find resources that you think would be beneficial to be included please contact us on libraryunlimited@staffs.ac.uk

Requesting new items

There are several ways in which you can request new resources to support more diverse reading lists.

If there is a new book you wish to add to a module reading list then this can be done in the normal way through the Reading Lists Online system.  See further guidance on ordering books on the Academic Staff guide.

If you have identified a book which would be useful for you and colleagues to use to help you understand diversifying reading and the curriculum in your subject area please email us on libraryunlimited@staffs.ac.uk with the details of the book.  As for new purchases under the reading lists system we would need:  author(s), title, year of publication, edition, publisher and ISBN.

 

Resources to support Library Unlimited

New Resources - African Diaspora and Black Thought and Culture

We have recently purchased two new collections to support Library Unlimited:

  • African Diaspora allows scholars to discover the migrations, communities, and ideologies of the African Diaspora through the voices of people of African descent. With a focus on communities in the Caribbean, Brazil, India, United Kingdom, and France, the collection includes never-before digitized primary source documents, including personal papers, organizational papers, journals, newsletters, court documents, letters, and ephemera.
     
  • Black Thought and Culture is a landmark electronic collection of approximately 100,000 pages of non-fiction writings by major American black leaders—teachers, artists, politicians, religious leaders, athletes, war veterans, entertainers, and other figures—covering 250 years of history. In addition to the most familiar works, Black Thought and Culture presents a great deal of previously inaccessible material, including letters, speeches, prefatory essays, political leaflets, interviews, periodicals, and trial transcripts.

Every Voice eBook Collection

We have added the Every Voice: Diversity, Equity and Inclusion (DEI)  eBook collection to our subscription of eBooks from eBook Central. 

The DEI eBook subscription includes thousands of titles from sought-after publishers all over the world. Its interdisciplinary content is curated to represent all voices and delve deeply into topics of race, gender, religion, gender and sexuality, disability, poverty and many more.

It gives access to diverse and award-winning content highlighting smaller publishers and diverse authors. Plus, the majority of titles were published in the past 10 years.

You can find the resources by using Library Search or from the eBook Central website or use the links below to see some of the content available under a range of subject headings.

DEI Collection eBooks by subject area

Web of Science

The Library and Learning Service has used some of the funds which it allocated to the Library Unlimited project to purchase a subscription to the indexing service Web of Science. The package we have taken includes access to global indexes including KCI- Korean Journal database, Russian Science Citation Index and SciELO Citation Index. Make sure that your reading list is as diverse as possible - look for resources from all parts of the world not just European and America. Explore the global south and beyond.

First steps

Introducing more diverse resources into your reading list is not going to be a simple process. One way to make a start is to search publishers’ websites for topics you want to cover and check the ethnicity of authors using resources such as social media, their institution’s web page and profiles on Scopus or Google Scholar.

Another idea is to try searching the catalogues of universities which have international collections, including those in Africa, Asia or South America.  Here are a few you may want to use: