Open Access

DOAJ is a unique and extensive index of quality, peer-reviewed, open access scholarly research journals from around the world. It is committed to ensuring quality content is openly available online for everyone.

DOAJ provides access to:

• more than 21,000 indexed journals
• more than 11 million indexed articles

Search tips:

• Searching for words separated by space(s) will add an Implicit AND between each word. For example searching for 'international development' will search for both international and development.
• To search a phrase, add quotation marks, for example “international development”. For higher accuracy when searching for ISSNs, add quotes around the ISSN or choose ISSN from dropdown list
• To broaden your search:
  • use the Boolean OR, for example 'bird OR flu OR avian';
  • use the truncation character * to replace characters, for example 'sustain*' retrieves records with sustain, sustainability, sustainable, sustained, sustaining.

Curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, the Network includes a growing collection of peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work.

The starburst graphic on the homepage features ten color-coded disciplines: 

• Architecture
• Arts and Humanities
• Business
• Education
• Engineering
• Law
• Life Sciences
• Medicine and Health Sciences
• Physical Sciences and Mathematics
• Social and Behavioral Sciences

The inner layer of the wheel shows the whole subject area, moving out to the central and outer layer highlights more specific areas within that subject.

Alternatively, type your keywords into the Search this Commons box to search everything.

PRISM (Peer Review Information Service for Monographs) is a service provided by DOAB.

As a researcher or student, you will be able to see the quality control process applied to the work, and more information about the publisher - just click on the PRISM logo.

The Library Project makes it possible to search through millions of books via Google, including books that are rare, out of print, or generally unavailable outside of a library.

If a book from the Library Project is determined to be in the public domain, Google will make it fully available to the public. If not, you'll still be able to search the content of the book, but Google Books will only display a selection of the text (highlighting where your search terms appear in the text).

How books are displayed in Google Books:

• Full view
• Limited preview
• Snippet view
• No preview available

Subjects covered are:

• Biomedicine
• Chemistry
• Computer Science
• Criminology and Criminal Justice
• Dentistry
• Earth Sciences
• Education
• Energy
• Engineering
• Environment
• Life Sciences
• Materials Science
• Mathematics
• Medicine and Public Health
• Philosophy
• Psychology

Research journals include:

• BMC Biology
• BMC Medicine
• Genome Biology
• Genome Medicine
• BMC Global and Public Health

Academic journals include:

• Journal of Hematology & Oncology
• Malaria Journal
• Microbiome

There is also access to the BMC Series (53 inclusive journals focused on the needs of individual research communities).

PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).

The PMC Journal List contains journals that:

• have an agreement with NLM to make the final published version of all their articles, or all their NIH-funded articles, available in PMC.
• are historically-significant journals from the Biomedical Journal Digitization project.

Europe PMC gives access to life sciences literature from a range of trusted sources - for free.

• Over 46 million abstracts
• Over 10 million full-text articles
• Research articles are linked to the supporting data and evidence behind the results
• Articles are also linked to protocols, smart citations, peer review materials and more

With a focus on fundamental and applied research, journals cover all scientific disciplines across life, health, and sustainability.

Life Science:

• PLOS Biology - high-impact research across all disciplines—from molecules to ecosystems.
• PLOS Complex Systems - theoretical, modeling, and applied research that advances our understanding of complex systems.
• PLOS Computational Biology - using computational methods and AI to further our understanding of living systems from molecular to ecosystem scale.
• PLOS Genetics - research related to genetics and genomics across the full breadth of this field.
• PLOS One - research in over two hundred subject areas across science, engineering, medicine, and the related social sciences and humanities.
• PLOS Pathogens - ground-breaking research on pathogen biology and host-pathogen interactions across all life forms.

Health Science:

• PLOS Complex Systems - theoretical, modeling, and applied research that advances our understanding of complex systems.
• PLOS Digital Health - a journal for democratising healthcare in the interdisciplinary and digital age.
• PLOS Global Public Health - makes interdisciplinary research of the highest ethical and methodological rigor visible and accessible.
• PLOS Medicine - high-impact research that transforms healthcare delivery, shapes policy, and advances clinical understanding.
• PLOS Mental Health - a global, multidisciplinary journal that brings together research aimed at improving the mental health and well-being of all people around the world.
• PLOS Neglected Tropical Diseases - covers the epidemiology, pathology, treatment, prevention and control of neglected tropical diseases, defined as poverty-promoting infectious diseases.
• PLOS One - research in over two hundred subject areas across science, engineering, medicine, and the related social sciences and humanities.
• PLOS Water - research of the highest methodological and ethical standards for water as a vital resource for societies in every region of the world.

Sustainability Science:

• PLOS Climate - enables decision-makers at every level of society to take urgent, evidence-based action on the causes and impacts of climate change. 
• PLOS Complex Systems - theoretical, modeling, and applied research that advances our understanding of complex systems.
• PLOS Sustainability and Transformation - original research, addressing the global challenges of transitioning to a more sustainable and just future.
• PLOS One - research in over two hundred subject areas across science, engineering, medicine, and the related social sciences and humanities.
• PLOS Water - research of the highest methodological and ethical standards for water as a vital resource for societies in every region of the world.

PhilPapers uses advanced trawling techniques and large-scale crowd-sourcing to monitor all sources of research content in philosophy, including journals, books, personal pages, and open access archives. 

The index currently includes almost 3 million research books and articles.

Topics include:

• Metaphysics and Epistemology
• Value Theory
• Science, Logic, and Mathematics 
• History of Western Philosophy
• Philosophical Traditions