Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

The Academic Skills team: About us

Who we are and what we do

The Academic Skills team are specialist staff based in the University Library. Some are qualified librarians, some have teaching qualifications and some are IT and data consultants. Some are combinations of all three! Use our expertise to help you get to grips with:

  • Academic skills essential for success at University.
  • Learning tools such as the Assignment Survival Kit (ASK), reading lists online 
  • Library resources, research and referencing
  • Using IT software such as Microsoft Office effectively.
  • Information management issues such as copyright.

Have a look at the Meet the Team information below which may help you decide which person can assist with your particular need.

Your Academic Skills contacts

Team Manager

Alison Pope


Library and Academic Skills Manager
Stoke Campus

Tel:  01782 294317
a.j.pope@staffs.ac.uk

Support for School of Digital, Technologies and Arts 

Eleanor Johnston


Academic Librarian and Skills Tutor
Stoke Campus

Tel:  01782 294809
e.johnston@staffs.ac.uk

 

Jodie Heap

jodie heap photo
Academic Librarian and Skills Tutor
Stoke Campus

Tel:  
jodie.heap@staffs.ac.uk

 

Support for School of Health, Science and Wellbeing

Liz White 

Liz White photo

Academic Librarian and Skills Tutor
Stoke Campus

Tel: 
elizabeth.white1@staffs.ac.uk

Tim Birch
                Tim Birch photo

Academic Librarian and Skills Tutor
Stoke Campus

Tel: 
tim.birch@staffs.ac.uk

Angela Evans


Academic Librarian and Skills Tutor
Stoke Campus

Tel:  01782 295808
angela.evans@staffs.ac.uk

 

Support for School of Justice, Security and Sustainability

Soo Plant 


Academic Librarian and Skills Tutor
Stoke Campus

 

PT Tues, Weds and Thurs

Tel:  01785 353500

s.plant@staffs.ac.uk

Liz Tomkinson


Academic Librarian and Skills Tutor
Stoke & Stafford Campus

PT Weds, Thurs and Fri

Tel:  01785 353288

e.tomkinson@staffs.ac.uk

Kay Coverdale


Academic Librarian and Skills Tutor
Stoke & Stafford Campus

PT  Mon, Tues and Weds

Tel:  01785 353606

k.m.coverdale@staffs.ac.uk

Support for Institute of Education

Angela Evans - lead contact


Academic Librarian and Skills Tutor
Stoke Campus

Tel:  01782 295808
angela.evans@staffs.ac.uk

 

Liz White - additional contact

Liz White photo

Academic Librarian and Skills Tutor
Stoke Campus

Tel: 
elizabeth.white1@staffs.ac.uk

 

Tim Birch - additional contact

                Tim Birch photo

Academic Librarian and Skills Tutor
Stoke Campus

Tel: 
tim.birch@staffs.ac.uk

Cross team support

Hannah Trzoska

hannah trzoska photo
Library & Skills Advisor

hannah.trzoska@staffs.ac.uk

 

Louise Yarwood

louise yarwood photo
Library & Skills Advisor

l.f.yarwood@staff.ac.uk

Arran Dickson

arran dickson photograph
Library and Skills Assistant


arran.dickson@staffs.ac.uk

Support for Staffordshire University London

Soo Plant - lead contact


Academic Librarian and Skills Tutor
Stoke Campus

PT Tues, Weds and Thurs

Tel:  01785 353500
s.plant@staffs.ac.uk

 

Liz Tomkinson - additional contact


Academic Librarian and Skills Tutor
Stoke & Stafford Campus

Tel:  01785 353288
e.tomkinson@staffs.ac.uk

Kay Coverdale - additional contact


Academic Librarian and Skills Tutor
Stoke & Stafford Campus

Tel:  01785 353606
k.m.coverdale@staffs.ac.uk

IT and Digital Capabilities Specialist

Julie Adams


Library Digital Developer
Expertise: Digital capabilities, IT training

Stoke Campus

Tel:  01782 294183
j.f.adams@staffs.ac.uk

 

Library Systems and Research Support Specialist

Sarah Beighton


 

 

 

 

 

Research and Systems Librarian
Expertise: Library systems, eResource access, REF/STORE support

Stoke Campus

Tel:  01782 294770
Sarah.Beighton@staffs.ac.uk