Skip to main content

Academic Skills support

About the Academic Skills team

The Academic Skills team can help you develop techniques to learn effectively, produce your assignments and improve your work to reach your full potential.

How can we help you?

  • Online guides for specific subject areas or academic skills topics
  • Taught workshops 
  • One-to-one appointments

Your Academic Study Skills contacts

Team Manager

Alison Pope


Library and Academic Skills Manager
Thompson Library, Stoke

Tel:  01782 294317
a.j.pope@staffs.ac.uk

 

Support for Staffordshire Business School

Shaun Coates


Academic Skills Tutor (Librarian)
Thompson Library Stoke and 
Blackheath Lane Library
and IT Centre, Stafford

Tel:  01782 294590
s.coates@staffs.ac.uk

Angela Evans


Academic Skills Tutor (Study Skills)
Thompson Library, Stoke

Tel:  01782 295808
angela.evans@staffs.ac.uk

Support for School of Digital, Technologies and Arts (Computing and Digital Technologies, including eSports)

Sarah Hall


Academic Skills Tutor (Librarian)
Thompson Library, Stoke

Tel:  01785 353353
s.d.hall@staffs.ac.uk

Soo Plant


Academic Skills Tutor (Study Skills)
Thompson Library, Stoke

Tel:  01785 353500
s.plant@staffs.ac.uk

Support for School of Digital, Technologies and Arts (Creative Arts and Engineering)

Eleanor Johnston


Academic Skills Tutor (Librarian)

Thompson Library, Stoke

Tel:  01782 294809
e.johnston@staffs.ac.uk

Jane Ball


Academic Skills Tutor (Study Skills)

Thompson Library, Stoke

Tel:  01782 294988
j.ball@staffs.ac.uk

Support  for School of Health and Social Care

Kay Coverdale


Academic Skills Tutor (Librarian)
Blackheath Lane Library
and IT Centre, Stafford

Tel:  01785 353606
k.m.coverdale@staffs.ac.uk

Shaun Coates



Academic Skills Tutor (Librarian)
Thompson Library Stoke and 
Blackheath Lane Library
and IT Centre, Stafford

Tel:  01782 294590
s.coates@staffs.ac.uk

Liz Tomkinson


Academic Skills Tutor (Study Skills)
Thompson Library Stoke and 
Blackheath Lane Library
and IT Centre, Stafford

Tel:  01785 353288
e.tomkinson@staffs.ac.uk

Jane Ball - SOCIAL WORK ONLY


Academic Skills Tutor (Study Skills)

Thompson Library, Stoke

Tel:  01782 294988
j.ball@staffs.ac.uk

Support for School of Law, Policing and Forensics

Alison Pope


Library and Academic Skills Manager

Thompson Library, Stoke

Tel:  01782 294317
a.j.pope@staffs.ac.uk

Lydia Bales


Academic Skills Tutor (Librarian)
Thompson Library Stoke

Tel:  01782 294123
lydia.bales@staffs.ac.uk

Jane Ball


Academic Skills Tutor (Study Skills)

Thompson Library, Stoke

Tel:  01782 294988
j.ball@staffs.ac.uk

Support for School of Life Sciences and Education

Paul Biggs


Academic Skills Tutor (Librarian)

Thompson Library, Stoke

Tel:  01782 294594
p.biggs@staffs.ac.uk

Sarah Hall - EDUCATION ONLY


Academic Skills Tutor (Librarian)
Thompson Library, Stoke

Tel:  01785 353353
s.d.hall@staffs.ac.uk

Angela Evans


Academic Skills Tutor (Study Skills)
Thompson Library, Stoke

Tel:  01782 295808
angela.evans@staffs.ac.uk

IT and Digital Capabilities Specialist

Julie Adams


Academic Skills Tutor: Digital Impact
Expertise: Digital capabilities, IT training

Thompson Library, Stoke

Tel:  01782 294183
j.f.adams@staffs.ac.uk

 

Library Systems and Research Support Specialist

Sarah Beighton


 

 

 

 

 

Research And Digital Resources Librarian
Expertise: Library systems, eResource access, REF/STORE support

Thompson Library, Stoke

Tel:  01782 294770
Sarah.Beighton@staffs.ac.uk

 

Support for Staffordshire University London

Soo Plant

Soo Plant photo

Academic Skills Tutor (Study Skills)
Thompson Library, Stoke

Tel:  01785 353500
s.plant@staffs.ac.uk

Study Skills

Some of the areas we can help you with include:

  • Academic Writing
  • Critical Writing
  • Effective reading
  • Paraphrasing
  • Planning your work
  • Numeracy
  • Time management

Please note that we do not proofread your work for you, but can help you learn how to do this effectively.

Explore Academic Study Skills guides

Subject Librarian support

Some of the areas we can help you with include:

  • Finding and using library resources
  • Research skills
  • Developing a search strategy
  • Understanding citing and referencing
  • Using reference management tools
  • Copyright

Explore the subject guides available for your area you are studying:

Digital Skills support

Some of the areas we can help you with include:

  • Using Microsoft Office effectively
  • Creating long documents in Word
  • Using PowerPoint for presentations or academic posters
  • Using Qualtrics survey software
  • Using  LinkedIn Learning online video training
  • Managing your files and using OneDrive