Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Academic Skills support

About the Academic Skills team

The Academic Skills team can help you develop techniques to learn effectively, produce your assignments and improve your work to reach your full potential.

How can we help you?

  • Online guides for specific subject areas or academic skills topics
  • Taught workshops 
  • One-to-one appointments

Find out more about the Library and how the Academic Skills team can help you in our video below.

Your Academic Skills contacts

Team Manager

Alison Pope


Library and Academic Skills Manager
Stoke Campus

Tel:  01782 294317
a.j.pope@staffs.ac.uk

Support for School of Digital, Technologies and Arts 

Eleanor Johnston


Academic Librarian and Skills Tutor
Stoke Campus


e.johnston@staffs.ac.uk

Jodie Heap


Academic Librarian and Skills Tutor
Stoke Campus


jodie.heap@staffs.ac.uk

 

Support for School of Health, Science and Wellbeing

Liz White 

Liz White photo

Academic Librarian and Skills Tutor
Stoke Campus

elizabeth.white1@staffs.ac.uk

Tim Birch
                Tim Birch photo

Academic Librarian and Skills Tutor
Stoke Campus

tim.birch@staffs.ac.uk

Angela Evans


Academic Librarian and Skills Tutor
Stoke Campus

angela.evans@staffs.ac.uk
 

Support for School of Justice, Security and Sustainability

Hannah Trzoska

hannah trzoska photo
Academic Librarian and Skills Tutor

hannah.trzoska@staffs.ac.uk

Kay Coverdale


Academic Librarian and Skills Tutor
Stoke & Stafford Campus

PT  Mon, Tues and Weds

k.m.coverdale@staffs.ac.uk

Support for Institute of Education

Angela Evans - lead contact


Academic Librarian and Skills Tutor
Stoke Campus

angela.evans@staffs.ac.uk

Liz White - additional contact

Liz White photo

Academic Librarian and Skills Tutor
Stoke Campus

elizabeth.white1@staffs.ac.uk

Tim Birch - additional contact

                Tim Birch photo

Academic Librarian and Skills Tutor
Stoke Campus

tim.birch@staffs.ac.uk

Cross team support

 

Louise Yarwood

louise yarwood photo
Library & Skills Advisor

l.f.yarwood@staff.ac.uk

Arran Dickson

arran dickson photograph
Library and Skills Assistant


arran.dickson@staffs.ac.uk

Support for Staffordshire University London

Jodie Heap

Academic Librarian and Skills Tutor
Stoke Campus


jodie.heap@staffs.ac.uk

Haroon Forde

haroon forde photo

Campus Support Assistant - Academic Skills
London Campus

haroon.forde@staffs.ac.uk

IT and Digital Capabilities Specialist

Julie Adams


Library Digital Developer
Expertise: Digital capabilities, IT training

Stoke Campus

Tel:  01782 294183
j.f.adams@staffs.ac.uk

Library Systems and Research Support Specialist

Sarah Beighton


 

 

 

 

 

Research and Systems Librarian
Expertise: Library systems, eResource access, REF/STORE support

Stoke Campus

Tel:  01782 294770
Sarah.Beighton@staffs.ac.uk

 

Study Skills

Some of the areas we can help you with include:

  • Academic Writing
  • Critical Writing
  • Effective reading
  • Paraphrasing
  • Planning your work
  • Numeracy
  • Time management

Please note that we do not proofread your work for you, but can help you learn how to do this effectively.

Explore Academic Study Skills guides

Subject Librarian support

Some of the areas we can help you with include:

  • Finding and using library resources
  • Research skills
  • Developing a search strategy
  • Understanding citing and referencing
  • Using reference management tools
  • Copyright

Explore the subject guides available for your area you are studying:

Digital Skills support

Some of the areas we can help you with include:

  • Using Microsoft Office effectively
  • Creating long documents in Word
  • Using PowerPoint for presentations or academic posters
  • Using Qualtrics survey software
  • Using  LinkedIn Learning online video training
  • Managing your files and using OneDrive