Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Staffordshire University Copyright Guidance

A guide to best practices with copyright

Further information

The CLA licence covers the photocopying and scanning of most, but not all, UK publications, and a number of US and international publishers. It allows: • Multiple photocopies of limited extracts from copyright protected printed books, journals and magazines • Digital Copies of limited extracts from copyright protected printed books, journals and magazines • Details of excluded UK and US publishers, and included overseas countries, can be found at Copyright Licensing Agency website.

The NLA licence permits the photocopying and scanning of newspaper articles of all national newspapers and around 80% of local newspapers for the purposes of internal management, education and instruction.

The NLA licence allows:
  • Photocopying of up to 250 copies of any article of any newspaper included in the NLA licence for the purposes of education, instruction and internal management
  • Digital scanning of cuttings, for the circulation by email or other electronic means from most NLA newspapers but there are exceptions The NLA licence does not allow:
  • the copying of advertisements, images, illustrations or photographs which may appear alongside an article
  • the copying and circulation of cuttings from NLA newspapers outside of the licensed premises
  • the copying of the whole of any newspaper
  • newspapers excluded from the NLA newspaper list
  • Newspapers covered:
  • Daily Mail, Mail on Sunday, Evening Standard
  • Express, Express on Sunday, Daily Star
  • Financial Times
  • Guardian, Observer
  • Independent, Independent on Sunday
  • Mirror, Sunday Mirror, People
  • Daily Telegraph, Sunday Telegraph
  • Times, Sunday Times, Sun, News of the World
  • and any magazines or supplements "forming part thereof or otherwise issued therewith".
  • Newspapers excluded The Times Literary / Higher Education / Education supplements are not covered by this license

     

The ERA license provide license schemes to member HE institutions to cover the use of recorded broadcast media in teaching and learning. The ERA License grants the right to record broadcasts for non-commercial educational purposes by making ERA Recordings Only educational establishments, or bodies acting on behalf of educational establishments which hold ERA Licenses will be eligible to take out ERA Plus Licenses.

The open government licence allows you to copy, publish, adapt and use the information commercially and non-commercially. Where possible you must acknowledge the source of the Information by including or linking to any attribution statement specified by the Information Provider(s) and, where possible, provide a link to this licence Open Government Licence.

 

Creative Commons provides an alternative to conventional copyright protection. It allows people who create content to attach licences to their work, making it explicit that it can be re-used.

Creative Commons helps you publish your work online whilst letting others know exactly what they can and can't do with your work. With a Creative Commons licence you keep the copyright but allow people to copy and distribute your work provided they give you credit, and only on the conditions you specify.

From the Creative Commons website you can search for materials that can be re-used without needing to request permission.

 

British Library Sound Archive

This collection of sound recordings is available to use by staff and students of further and higher education.  Recordings can be downloaded in MP3 format and used in education. 

Internet Archive

This online resources contains all sorts of different multimedia moving images and sounds. Most of the content is in the public domain so is free for educational use. 

Royalty Free Music

These music clips may be used in conjunction with educational or personal not-for-profit programs and projects at no cost. RoyaltyFreeMusic.com requires that clients using these free music clips must cite Royalty Free Music.com, as the source of the music and - when possible- provide a link to our site.

Mobygratis

Moby has made a selection of over 150 tracks from his huge collection of music available to licence for free, via a simple online application system.

Cartoons for the Classroom 

These cartoons can be downloaded for use in teaching. These cartoons cover many of the political events of the 20th Century. 

MorgueFile

A community-based free photo site, and all photos found in the Morguefile archive are free for you to download and re-use in your work, be it commercial or not. The photos have been contributed by a wide range of creatives from around the world, ranging from amateur photo hobbyists to professionals

Pics4Learning

Pics4Learning is a curated image library that is safe and free for education. Teachers and students can use the copyright-friendly photos and illustrations for classroom projects, web sites, videos, portfolios, or any other projects in an educational setting.

85 Free Stock Photo Resources – How to Use Them

For each free photo resource, the type of Creative Commons license, attribution and date started are listed. There is also a brief description of the website itself.

Everystockphoto

Everystockphoto searches millions of freely licensed photos, from various sources and presents them in an integrated search.

Pexels

All photos on Pexels are free for any personal and commercial purpose.

 

BFI In View

BFI InView offers a unique window on Britain's changing political, economic and social landscape in the age of film and television

BFI Screenonline

British film and TV history, with analysis, information and multimedia

British Pathe Film Archive

Multimedia resource with a history stretching back over a century

News On Screen

Resource for the study of newsreels and cinemagazines

YouTube EDU

Content shared from a variety of universities.

 

You should assume that ALL pictures you find on the web are the copyright of someone, so you must be very cautious about inserting such images in your presentation slides. This will be particularly important if you plan to upload your slides into Blackboard. If you cannot locate the copyright holder, you should not use the image.
Under the terms of the Copyright Licensing agency (CLA) licence, you may only do this if you complete the copyright statement/cover sheet that must be attached to the scanned document. If you need help with this, please contact the Digitisation team
The maximum amount for a book is one chapter, or 5%, whichever is the greater. The CLA discourage the scanning of chapters that are very large, i.e., more than 50 pages.
You should obtain permission from the right holder(s).
The publisher of your work should help here, but you need to assert your “moral rights” – essentially this is the right of the author (or creator of a work) to be identified as an author, the right to object to derogatory treatment of your work and the right not to have a work falsely attributed to you. Use of the copyright symbol © on unpublished work is helpful.
This is allowed under the terms of the Photocopying and Scanning licence. You can put several items together in a course pack, but you should seek guidance if you plan to copy a significant number of chapters in this way – the CLA regard this as an attempt to recreate a textbook, which is not permitted under the terms of the CLA licence. The Library would prefer it if you asked for items to be digitised rather than photocopied.
The terms of the CLA Scanning licence only permit copying from designated countries – and Italy isn’t one of them. The Digitisation team in the library will advise you of the countries which are designated. More information can also be found on the CLA website.
You are permitted to make a copy of part of a work (usually literary, dramatic, musical or artistic) providing it is for research for a non-commercial purpose. You do need to ensure sufficient acknowledgement in any subsequent publication.
When you are creating examination questions, there is no infringement of copyright, providing you make sufficient acknowledgement. So, you could use an excerpt from a book, quoting the source of the excerpt. It is generally accepted that within the UK, anything included within a thesis or dissertation is also exempt from copyright infringement.
Yes, as long as they are being shown for educational purposes only (i.e. not entertainment) to an audience of teaching staff and students. You do not need a special licence to do this as it's a defense under the Copyright Act.
Under the Copyright, Designs and Patents Act 1988, employers own the intellectual property created by their employees in the normal course of their employment. However, the Staffordshire University  takes a pragmatic approach to material created by staff and does not assert its ownership to everything.
You will need the permission of both the author of the other work, and its publisher. You should also credit the copyright holder in the text of your own article.
ou should assume that ALL pictures you find on the web are the copyright of someone, so you must be very cautious about inserting such images in your presentation slides. This will be particularly important if you plan to upload your slides into Blackboard, for example. If you cannot locate the copyright holder, you should not use the image.
The publisher of your work should help here, but you need to assert your “moral rights” – essentially this is the right of the author (or creator of a work) to be identified as an author, the right to object to derogatory treatment of your work and the right not to have a work falsely attributed to you. Use of the copyright symbol © on unpublished work is helpful.
You are permitted to make a copy of part of a work (usually literary, dramatic, musical or artistic) providing it is for research for a non-commercial purpose. You do need to ensure sufficient acknowledgement in any subsequent publication. See also copyright, fair dealing & Design & Patent Act
Yes. The advice above concerning the incorporation of other people's work into your research applies. In particular make sure you have permission to use images if they are copyrighted.
As long as you cite the material used so you cannot be accused of plagiarism it is acceptable to incorporate a limited amount of text into published research. For more information on plagiarism check the library website.
No. Copies provided by your lecturer or in a course pack should not be further copied as this would infringe the University's copyright licences.
Yes. Your essays, emails, exam scripts, dissertations and other original material you create in the form of projects or assignments all constitute copyright material. You are the rights holder, but the University requires you to submit copies as a course requirement for the purpose of marking and assessment, and may require you to deposit copies of material in a departmental collection or the University Library.
Yes - you don't need permission from the copyright holder to use images or any other copyrighted content (with the exception of musical works) in any piece of work you do which is examined. Please note however that if you are planning on publishing or making your thesis available on the Web, you will need to seek permission to use copyright materials that you have included in your work, as the legal exception only applies for the examination and not the subsequent re-use.