Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

The Academic Skills team: About us

Who we are and what we do

The Academic Skills team are specialist staff based in the University Library. Some are qualified librarians, some have teaching qualifications and some are IT and data consultants. Some are combinations of all three! Use our expertise to help you get to grips with:

  • Academic skills essential for success at University.
  • Learning tools such as the Assignment Survival Kit (ASK), reading lists online 
  • Library resources, research and referencing
  • Using IT software such as Microsoft Office effectively.
  • Information management issues such as copyright.

Have a look at the Meet the Team information below which may help you decide which person can assist with your particular need.

Your Academic Skills contacts

Team Manager

Alison Pope


Library and Academic Skills Manager
Thompson Library, Stoke

Tel:  01782 294317
a.j.pope@staffs.ac.uk

Support for Staffordshire Business School

Kay Coverdale - lead contact


Academic Librarian and Skills Tutor
Blackheath Lane Library
and IT Centre, Stafford

Tel:  01785 353606
k.m.coverdale@staffs.ac.uk

 

 

Support for School of Digital, Technologies and Arts 

Eleanor Johnston


Academic Librarian and Skills Tutor
Thompson Library, Stoke

Tel:  01782 294809
e.johnston@staffs.ac.uk

 

Support for School of Health and Social Care

Liz Tomkinson - lead contact


Academic Librarian and Skills Tutor
Thompson Library Stoke and 
Blackheath Lane Library
and IT Centre, Stafford

Tel:  01785 353288
e.tomkinson@staffs.ac.uk

Kay Coverdale


Academic Librarian and Skills Tutor
Blackheath Lane Library
and IT Centre, Stafford

Tel:  01785 353606
k.m.coverdale@staffs.ac.uk

 

Angela Evans


Academic Librarian and Skills Tutor
Thompson Library, Stoke

Tel:  01782 295808
angela.evans@staffs.ac.uk

 

Support for School of Law, Policing and Forensics

Soo Plant - lead contact


Academic Librarian and Skills Tutor
Thompson Library, Stoke

Tel:  01785 353500
s.plant@staffs.ac.uk

Alison Pope  - support for Law


Library and Academic Skills Manager

Thompson Library, Stoke

Tel:  01782 294317
a.j.pope@staffs.ac.uk

Support for School of Life Sciences and Education

Angela Evans - lead contact


Academic Librarian and Skills Tutor
Thompson Library, Stoke

Tel:  01782 295808
angela.evans@staffs.ac.uk

Alison Pope  - support for Psychology


Library and Academic Skills Manager

Thompson Library, Stoke

Tel:  01782 294317
a.j.pope@staffs.ac.uk

Cross team support

Louise Yarwood

louise yarwood photo
Library & Skills Advisor

Tel: 01785 353609
l.f.yarwood@staff.ac.uk

Arran Dickson

arran dickson photo
Library and Skills Assistant

Thompson Library, Stoke

Tel:  01782 295770
arran.dickson@staffs.ac.uk

IT and Digital Capabilities Specialist

Julie Adams


Library Digital Developer
Expertise: Digital capabilities, IT training

Thompson Library, Stoke

Tel:  01782 294183
j.f.adams@staffs.ac.uk

 

Library Systems and Research Support Specialist

Sarah Beighton


 

 

 

 

 

Research And Digital Resources Librarian
Expertise: Library systems, eResource access, REF/STORE support

Thompson Library, Stoke

Tel:  01782 294770
Sarah.Beighton@staffs.ac.uk

 

Support for Staffordshire University London

Soo Plant


Academic Librarian and Skills Tutor
Thompson Library, Stoke

Tel:  01785 353500
s.plant@staffs.ac.uk