Library: Computer Science: Articles, Journals &amp; Databases

What are Articles, Journals and Databases and why are they so important?

As a student in higher education your tutors will be looking for evidence that you have used a wide range of resources in your studies. Journals are one such resource. They can provide up to date, specialised information on topics which are not always found in books. There are two main types of journal.

Academic Journals for example:

International Journal of Web Information Systems

Trade, general and professional magazines for example:

IT Now
PC World

It is useful to understand how articles, journals and databases fit together,

Search Google Scholar

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.

Linking Google Scholar to your University account

Databases

The A-Z of Databases page provides access to all of our subscription Library databases so you can find the best resources for your research. You can locate the database you require by selecting the appropriate letter below, or select a subject from the Subject drop-down list to see all the recommended databases for that area. You can also use the Database Type drop-down list to show just Full-text databases, eBooks, articles etc.

Computing Databases

Kanopy
Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video platform that offers films and documentaries. Find movies, documentaries, foreign films, classic cinema, independent films and educational videos.

Login information:

- On the Kanopy page click the large orange "Log In to Staffs" button.

- On the page that follows, click on "Log In to Staffs" one more time.

- If prompted login with your normal credentials

If viewing via a mobile or tablet after you will need to create a Kanopy account and download the Kanopy App. Please see the information provided here: https://help.kanopy.com/en-us/4213.htm (link opens in new window)