Library: Business and Marketing: Databases, journals and articles

Resources for business and marketing

The Library provides a wide range of resources to support you in your research.

Databases are one of the best types of resource to get familiar with.

We use the term ‘database’ to describe a searchable collections of online resources which contain items such as journal articles, books, and images. Using the databases recommended for your subject will help you find reliable information from trusted sources.

Business Source Complete
Many full text articles covering all areas of business
Subjects covered:
• Accounting, Banking and Finance, Business News, Business Strategy, Management, Marketing, Regional Business.
As well as books and journals, access includes:
- Case studies
- Company profiles
- Industry reports
- SWAT analyses
- Videos (from Associated Press)
Emerald Management ejournal collection

Contains over 100 leading business and management journals. Subject coverage includes marketing and logistics, operations and production management, human resource management, accounting, economics and finance.
Alternative link if the above does not work.
Covering all aspects of management, this is a comprehensive collection, ideal for MBA programmes and business degrees.
Access to 213 journals including:
- Accounting, Auditing and Accountability Journal
- Critical Perspectives on International Business
- European Business Review
- Human Resource Management International Digest
- Internet Research
- Management Decision
- Strategic HR Review
- The TQM Journal
- Worldwide Hospitality and Tourism Themes
Mintel

Mintel Marketing Reports - key trends and statistics in the following UK Market sectors:
- Automotive
- Beauty and Personal
- Business: Services
- Drink
- Food
- Leisure
- Retail: Clothing and Footwear
- Retail: Home
- Retail: Overview
- Technology
- Travel
IBISWorld

IBISWorld is a comprehensive industry and market research database firm that provides information and analysis on more than 700 industries worldwide.
Industry Report Collections (for more information see: An overview of IBISWorld's report collections)
- Core industry collections:
  - Australia, New Zealand, United Kingdom, Ireland, United States, Canada, Mexico, China, Germany, Europe, Global.
  - the most established industries that are recognised by national industry coding systems.
  - reports generally follow the Standard Industry Report template (with the exception of the Europe Collection) .
- Specialised industry collections:
  - United States, United Kingdom, Australia.
  - prominent and emerging industries that fall outside of national industry coding systems.
  - reports follow the Standard Industry Report or Spotlight Industry Report templates.
- State and provincial collections:
  - US State Industry reports - 500+ industries across all 50 states.
  - Canada Provincial Industry reports - 150+ industries across all provinces and territories.
  - Reports are adapted to provide local insights, benchmarking regional performance against the national average
IBISWorld features and tools include:
- Industry Wizard - industry information hub that can be filtered and sorted to make comparison across the whole database. Covers United States, Canada, the United Kingdom, Germany, Australia and New Zealand.
- Inflation Tracker tool - available for the United States, United Kingdom, Australia and Germany.
- Business Environment Profiles - focusing on external drivers such as consumer behaviour, commodity prices and financial markets.
- Price Index Profiles - currently only available for the US, data is sourced from the Bureau of Labor Statistics’ Producer Price Index survey.
- Occupational Profiles - sourced from the US Bureau of Labor Statistics’ (BLS) Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) survey.
- Risk Ratings Reports - analysis of the structural, growth and sensitivity risks facing an industry.
Training and guidance:
Statista

Statista.com is a leading provider of market and consumer data. It consolidates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources and content includes statistics, reports, outlooks and infographics for a wide range of industries.
Discover:
- eCommerce Insights - market analysis and benchmarking for online stores and marketplaces.
- Consumer Insights - analysis of consumer attitudes and behaviour.
- Market Insights - market sizes, forecasts and more for a range of industries.

ScienceDirect - Elsevier

ScienceDirect is a leading database of peer-reviewed science, technology and health information trusted by researchers, teachers and students around the globe.
Explore scientific, technical, and medical research in:
- Physical Sciences and Engineering - covering a range of disciplines, from the theoretical to the applied.
- Life Sciences - original research, insightful analysis, current theory and more.
- Health Sciences - covering education, reference information, decision support and more.
- Social Sciences and Humanities - highlighting historical context, current developments, theories, applications, trends and more.
3 million plus articles are made freely available via open access. View the list of full open access journals and books.
Newspapers - Global Newsstream

Global Newsstream enables users to search the most recent global news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring content from newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format. This product provides one of the largest collections of news from the US, Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. All titles are cross-searchable on the ProQuest platform allowing researchers easy access to multiple perspectives, resources, and languages on the topic they are researching.
Coverage: 1980 - current
Included databases (full-text for certain publications is subject to availability):
- European Newsstream - access to a range of national and regional newspapers, magazines and trade journals from the UK and Europe.
  - Newspapers include: The Daily Telegraph, The Guardian, The Financial Times, The Independent, The Observer, The Times
  - Magazines include: The New Statesman, The Spectator, Telepgraph Magazine
  - Trade journals include: The Grocer, Utility Week
- U.S. Newsstream Collection - the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives, including the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and The Wall Street Journal.
- Canadian Newsstream Collection - access to the full text of over 400 Canadian news sources from Canada's leading publishers.
- International Newsstream Collection - information from more than 660 of the world's top newspapers.
- Global Breaking Newswires - access to the best newswire content available from around the globe, as well as growing archive of news that may not be captured in any of the traditional print sources.
Kanopy

Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video platform that offers films and documentaries. Find movies, documentaries, foreign films, classic cinema, independent films and educational videos.

Login information:

- On the Kanopy page click the large orange "Log In to Staffs" button.

- On the page that follows, click on "Log In to Staffs" one more time.

- If prompted login with your normal credentials

If viewing via a mobile or tablet after you will need to create a Kanopy account and download the Kanopy App. Please see the information provided here: https://help.kanopy.com/en-us/4213.htm (link opens in new window)

Finding Journals and articles

Use this link to find a comprehensive list of business journals

Use this link to find a comprehensive list of marketing journals