Library: Law: Databases, journals and articles

Resources for Law

Databases are one of the best types of resource to become familiar with.

We use the term ‘database’ to describe a searchable collection of online resources which contains items such as journal articles, books, and images. Using the databases recommended for your subject will help you find reliable information from trusted sources.

Key databases

To search for law journals Use this link

Or enter a key phrase in the library search bar and use the left hand pane to select Content Type = Journal Articles

Or use the suggested list below

Law Trove
Law Trove contains about 200 law titles designed for undergraduates. Law Trove enables you to search and interrogate Oxford's textbook law list

Lexis+ This link opens in a new window
If you need help to migrate your personal preferences accross from the old Lexis Platform, please follow the instructions on our current issues guide.

Lexis Library provides a comprehensive collection of annotated legislation, cases, forms, precedents and commentary from Butterworths and Tolley with instant cross-referencing between commentary, cases, legislation and other legal materials.

Alternative link to Lexis+.
Practical Law This link opens in a new window
Practical Law is an online legal know how service. It provides rigorous peer reviewed resources, such as practice notes, current awareness and standard documents to help you work smarter and advise with confidence.
Alternative Link: http://ezproxy.staffs.ac.uk/login?url=http://uk.practicallaw.com/
Westlaw UK This link opens in a new window
Designed for professionals, Westlaw UK provides up to date case law and legislation, which is imperative in giving accurate advice to clients
Kanopy
Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video platform that offers films and documentaries. Find movies, documentaries, foreign films, classic cinema, independent films and educational videos.

Login information:

- On the Kanopy page click the large orange "Log In to Staffs" button.

- On the page that follows, click on "Log In to Staffs" one more time.

- If prompted login with your normal credentials

If viewing via a mobile or tablet after you will need to create a Kanopy account and download the Kanopy App. Please see the information provided here: https://help.kanopy.com/en-us/4213.htm (link opens in new window)