Library: Creative Communities: Databases, journals and articles

Resources

The Library provides a wide range of resources to support you in your research.

Databases are one of the best types of resource to get familiar with.

We use the term ‘database’ to describe a searchable collections of online resources which contain items such as journal articles, books, and images. Using the databases recommended for your subject will help you find reliable information from trusted sources.

Search Google Scholar

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.

Linking Google Scholar to your University account

Databases

The A-Z of Databases page provides access to all of our subscription Library databases so you can find the best resources for your research. You can locate the database you require by selecting the appropriate letter below, or select a subject from the Subject drop-down list to see all the recommended databases for that area. You can also use the Database Type drop-down list to show just Full-text databases, eBooks, articles etc.

Print journals

Some journals are only available in print. You can find the 'Art' type journals in the Creative Collection, and the rest in Ashley 1 Core Collection You may browse the journals and use them in the library building. Copiers are located in the library and you are allowed to copy articles for your own use.