Their aim is "to make the UK the best place to make, see, collect and learn about contemporary craft."
- Paris Museums free copyright cleared images to download
100,000 digital reproductions of works held by the city’s museums available free of charge.
The images were released under the Creative Commons Zero license, meaning that the files have been dedicated to the public domain “as completely as possible.”
- Textileartist.org
An online resource and community for artists working with textile techniques as well as textile art enthusiasts. TextileArtist.org is a place to be inspired, learn from the best, promote your work and reach other creatively-minded people.
- Graphic Design Archives at Rochester Institute of Technology
These document and preserve the work of significant American graphic designers active from the 1920s to the 1950s. In addition, selected contemporary designers working in the modernist traditions are also included. The collection includes the works of twenty-five designers and typographers, including:
Walter Allner, Hans J. Barschel, Saul Bass, Lester Beall, Alexey Brodovitch, Will Burtin, Tom Carnese, Chermayeff and Geismar, Louis Danziger, Estelle Ellis, Mary Faulconer, George Giusti, William Golden, Rob Roy Kelly, Leo Lionni, Alvin Lustig, Joyce Morrow, Cipe Pineles, Paul Rand, Alex Steinweiss, Ladislav Sutnar, Ceil Smith Thayer, Bradbury Thompson, Fred Troller, and Massimo and Lella Vignelli.
- The Space
A new way to access and experience the arts, inviting you to watch full performances, catch unmissable events, delve into rare archive and explore collections.
- Draw Paint Academy
The aim with Draw Paint Academy is to provide high-level art education which is easy to understand.
-
The Symington Collection
A collection of images and historical sewing patterns from the Symington factory in Leicestershire. Appointments can be made with the Collection Resources Centre to see items in person. Please contact Leicestershire Museums here.
- Heritage Crafts
Information about endangered, at risk, and extinct art and craft techniques or professions.
Free online courses on a variety of topics that can be used either for guided independent research or for fun. Some courses run all the time, while some are only available at select times of the year. Most courses are completely free but may require payment if you want evidence of completion like a certificate; be sure to check before signing up as some courses are only available with payment. A selection of courses that may be of interest to Art and design students are:
- VADS Over 140,000 images from over 300 art and design collections across the UK.
