Library: Statistical Information: Websites

Key sources of statistical information

The following sites provide a wide range of information covering multiple subject areas.

For data on specific topics you can also choose from the subject category tabs.

DATA.GOV.UK
Find data published by government departments and agencies, public bodies and local authorities.
GOV.UK Research and Statistics
Statistics and research from government departments in the UK.
Office for National Statistics (ONS)
The ONS produces and publishes a wide range of the information about Britain, used for social and economic policy-making.
UK Data Archive
The UK's largest collection of digital research data in the Social Sciences and Humanities.
UK Data Service
A comprehensive range of surveys on topics such as population, health, crime, housing, living and food etc. Staffordshire University login and initial registration required.

The following sites provide a wide range of information covering multiple subject areas.

For data on specific topics you can also choose from the subject category tabs.

Eurostat
Eurostat is the statistical office of the European Union.

The following sites provide a wide range of information covering multiple subject areas.

For data on specific topics you can also choose from the subject category tabs.

Monthly bulletin of statistics online This link opens in a new window
The Monthly Bulletin of Statistics Online presents current economic and social statistics for more than 200 countries and territories of the world. It contains 55 tables, comprising over 100 indicators, of monthly, quarterly and annual data on a variety of subjects illustrating important economic trends and developments, including population, industrial production indices, price indices, employment and earnings, energy, manufacturing, transport, construction, international merchandise trade, finance and national accounts.

NationMaster
A statistics database which offers a large directory of variables for comparison purposes.
With NationMaster you can track thousands of statistics as and when they are released. The database is composed of data from trustworthy sources such as national statistic agencies, governments, international organizations... (UNDP, UNESCO Institute for Statistics, UNCTAD, WTO, World Bank, World Health Organization, OECD and many others).
Statistical Yearbook
The Statistical Yearbook provides a comprehensive compilation of internationally available statistics on social and economic conditions and activities, at world, regional and national levels, for an appropriate historical period. It is prepared by the Statistics Division, Department of Economic and Social Affairs, of the United Nations Secretariat.
UNdata
Users can search and download a variety of statistical resources compiled by the United Nations (UN) statistical system and other international agencies.
UNESCO Institute for Statistics (UIS)
The UNESCO Institute for Statistics (UIS) is the official and trusted source of internationally-comparable data on education, science, culture and communication.
World Factbook (US Central Intelligence Agency)
The World Factbook provides basic intelligence on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, environment, communications, transportation, military, terrorism, and transnational issues for 266 world entities.
World Statistics Pocketbook
The World Statistics Pocketbook is an annual compilations of key statistical indicators prepared by the United Nations Statistics Division of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs. Up to 50 indicators from more than 20 international statistical sources are presented in one-page profiles for 30 world geographical regions and over 200 countries or areas of the world.