Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Off campus support

What Library services can I access away from the University?

If you are a part-time student, a distance learner, working from home or have difficulty visiting us in person – you can access our resources and services from wherever you are. 

24/7 access to our research databases is available to our current students and staff, and all University ID card or library card holders will have online access to their library accounts.

Getting started

Welcome 2020 is a great place to start for new students.  You'll find all the information you need to help you in your first few months of studying....and beyond.

Don't forget to check out RefZone too - everything you need to know to reference your assignments correctly at your fingertips.

eResources

We provide access to a wide range of databases, eBooks and eJournals so that you can find the best resources for your research.  From our Databases A–Z you can select a subject from the drop-down list to see all the recommended collections for your area.  To get access to full-text resources you will need your University issued username and password. 

Search the library catalogue and check your library account

You can check our library catalogue for details of the items held in stock at our site libraries in Stoke and Stafford.   For books located at the Health Library in Shrewsbury you can use the Shropshire Health Libraries' Catalogue.

Everyone with Library membership – if you have a Staffordshire University ID card, or a library card issued by Customer Services – will have online access to their library account.  Here you can see the details of the books you have on loan, and reserve books in advance for collection using our Click and Collect service or delivery to your home address.

Postal loans

For our Distance Learners, and other Staffordshire University students and staff who can't easily visit one of our site Libraries, we offer a postal loans service within the UK only.  You can request up to 4 books at any one time.  These will be posted to you free of charge, but it is your responsibility to ensure their safe return and to pay the return postage costs.

If there is an electronic version available of any book that you request, we will email you with the details and provide a link to access the eBook instead of posting out the printed version

Many eBooks will be compatible with screen readers.  There are also a number of things you can change to make them more accessible to your needs.

Document Delivery service

This service is for requesting books, journal articles, reports and conference proceedings that are not currently stocked by our libraries, and which are not freely available online.  It is provided free of charge and is strictly for use by Staffordshire University students and staff. 

The majority of requests will be fulfilled by On Demand, the document supply service from the British Library. 

Initially you will need to register for a British Library Online Account  (select On Demand as the service) and then associate that account with Staffordshire University Libraries.  You can then order books for loan, or request documents for electronic delivery direct to your registered email address. 

Follow the step-by-step instructions in our guide on how to use the British Library On Demand service.

 

Academic Skills support

Our Library Subject Guides will provide you with information that is specific to the subject you are studying.

They include advice on finding resources, links to useful websites, and details of how to contact your Subject Librarian or make an appointment.

Academic Study Skills Guides will help you with the planning, writing and presentation of your assignments. 

They include advice on academic writing, critical thinking and reflection, and are designed to help you become an efficient, independent learner.  You will also find details of how to contact your Skills Tutor or make an appointment.

Access to other university libraries

Staffordshire University is a member of  SCONUL Access, a scheme that covers most of the academic libraries in the UK and Ireland.  

Membership is free and provides visitor access and borrowing rights to staff, postgraduates, distance learners and placement students – full-time undergraduates can apply for reference access.