Library: Policing: Databases, Journals and Articles for Policing

Resources for Policing

Databases are one of the best types of resource to get familiar with.

We use the term ‘database’ to describe a searchable collection of online resources which contain items such as journal articles, books, and images. Using the databases recommended for your subject will help you find reliable information from trusted sources.

Blackstone's Police Manuals
Reference texts for the Police Promotion Examinations.
The only manuals to be endorsed by the College of Policing, they contain all the material you need to pass your NPPF Step Two or NIE exam.

Policing Insight This link opens in a new window
Policing Insight is the leading magazine focusing on the governance, management and politics of policing.

New users need to register an account using a valid University of Staffordshire email address.
Users must then set a password and validate their account via the Welcome email sent to their account email address. To validate, click the password link in the email to create a password for the account.

If you don't receive your Welcome email (check your junk folder), then please contact
Policing Insight for assistance.

Kanopy
Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video platform that offers films and documentaries. Find movies, documentaries, foreign films, classic cinema, independent films and educational videos.

Login information:

- On the Kanopy page click the large orange "Log In to Staffs" button.

- On the page that follows, click on "Log In to Staffs" one more time.

- If prompted login with your normal credentials

If viewing via a mobile or tablet after you will need to create a Kanopy account and download the Kanopy App. Please see the information provided here: https://help.kanopy.com/en-us/4213.htm (link opens in new window)
Law Trove
If you are experiencing difficulties accessing Lawtrove, please use the following link.https://www.oxfordlawtrove.com/search?q=&searchBtn=Search&isQuickSearch=true

Law Trove facilitates a rounded and complete study of law. Its powerful search facility means you can delve deeper into your title, navigate more easily, and connect with additional resources in your own institution’s library collection. Law Trove enables you to search and interrogate the wealth of Oxford’s textbook law list and contains the content of about 200 law textbooks across core and optional modules.
Law Trove enables you to search and interrogate the wealth of Oxford’s textbook law list.
- The powerful search facility means students can explore easily, delving deeper into the content for an immersive learning experience.
- Contents and cross-references are hyperlinked for fast and easy navigation, and a joined up learning experience.
- Students can personalize their experience by creating their own profile and saving content, searches, and annotations.
Newspapers - Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Link: http://search.proquest.com/europeannews/shibboleth?accountid=17254
ScienceDirect - Elsevier This link opens in a new window
Link: https://auth.elsevier.com/ShibAuth/institutionLogin?entityID=https%3A%2F%2Fshibboleth.staffs.ac.uk%2Fidp%2Fshibboleth&appReturnURL=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.sciencedirect.com/science/search
Alternative Link: Back up Login link

ScienceDirect Freedom Collection (pre-2000 subscribers):2012-2016:Year 3 - NESLi2
Westlaw UK This link opens in a new window
Access the information you need to inform your work, including cases, legislation, annotated statutes, retained EU legislation, and UK court dockets. Westlaw UK offers the most comprehensive, accurate, and up-to-date collection of legal information for England, Wales, Scotland, and Northern Ireland.
- Global search bar: Search with ease to quickly find the legal content you need to complete your research and lay the groundwork for effective arguments. Benefit from a range of search options, from natural-language search to suggested search terms and connectors, including the ability to browse and search by topic area.
- My Folders: Efficiently store and organise your legal research. Easily save research documents in Folders or use the Trail feature to effortlessly resume your work from where you left off in your last research session.
- Document linking: Navigate between relevant documents without leaving Westlaw UK. Link directly to a resource mentioned in a journal, article, book, or statutory provision, allowing readers to be taken directly to the resource.

Finding Policing Journals & Articles

Articles can be found either by entering a key phrase in the Library Search and using the left hand pane to select Content Type = Journal Articles OR by searching the professional journals listed below.

Most articles contained in journals we subscribe to are available electronically but we do have a small reference only collection of printed journals.

International Journal of Police Science & Management
The International Journal of Police Science & Management publishes original empirical work, conceptual articles, theoretical reviews, as well as articles on practice implementation and evaluation.
Police Journal: Theory, Practice and Principles
The Police Journal: Theory, Practice and Principles is a peer-reviewed journal that publishes original research studies, conceptual articles, theoretical overviews or reviews, and articles on good practice or practice evaluation, to reflect the constantly changing landscape in which police personnel around the World operate.
Police Practice and Research: An International Journal
Our primary aim at Police Practice & Research is to present current and innovative police research with a focus on informing policing policy, programs and/or practice around the globe.
Police Professional
Police Professional is the monthly printed and online journal for UK law enforcement.
To register: go to Log in and fill out your details. You MUST enter your University email address where it asks for "Police email".
Police Quarterly
Police Quarterly emphasizes policy-oriented research of interest to both practitioners and academics. The only such journal published in North America, Police Quarterly seeks to publish both qualitative and quantitative police-related research.
Policing: a Journal of Policy and Practice
Policing: a Journal of Policy and Practice is a leading policy and practice publication aimed at connecting law enforcement leaders, police researchers, analysts and policy makers, this peer-reviewed journal contains critical analysis and commentary on a wide range of topics including current law enforcement policies, police reform, political and legal developments, training and education, patrol and investigative operations, accountability, comparative police practices, and human and civil rights.

Use this link to see the full list of online journals for Policing

Access to other university libraries

University of Staffordshire is a member of SCONUL Access, a scheme that covers most of the academic libraries in the UK and Ireland.

Membership is free and provides visitor access and borrowing rights to staff, postgraduates, distance learners and placement students – full-time undergraduates can apply for reference access.