Accessibility Guide to Library Eresources: Vendors T-Z

Resource type: Journals, Ebooks

Web accessibility standard:

W3C WAI WCAG 2.0 Level A or AA

 

Instructions for screen reader and keyboard users:

If you need to enlarge text, use a screen reader or can't use a mouse (keyboard only) you will find this database more accessible in Firefox than Internet Explorer. 

Taylor & Francis ebooks

On the results page for searching or browsing, select the Full access content only box to narrow your results to full text material. Some books require a plug-in. Screen readers note that from the results page, select the book title, then list the links on the page. If a plug-in is required there will be a link saying A software plug-in is required.

Taylor & Francis journals

If you need to enlarge text, use a screen reader or can't use a mouse (keyboard only) you will find this database more accessible in Firefox than Internet Explorer.

Instructions from Publisher website: 

Navigation

We have provided consistent global navigation links and each page has a breadcrumb trail of navigation leading back to the homepage. All pages on the site contain a search box.

There is also a 'skip to content' link on every page which allows users of assistive technologies to navigate directly to the main content.

Markup and headings

This website has been built to modern web standards using valid XHTML and CSS. We have used headings properly to help assistive technology users browse the page content.

Screen reader users:

Modern screen readers use a common set of commands allowing you to navigate through a page using the headings:

• h - cycle through the headings
• Shift + h - cycle backwards through the headings
• 1 - 6 - move to the next heading of the same level (for example, 1 will move you to the next level 1 heading, 2 will move you to the next level 2 heading)
• Shift + 1 - 6 - as above but moving through each heading backwards
• Insert + F6 - provide a list of all headings on a page.

Opera users

If you are browsing the site using Opera you can cycle through the headings using these commands:

• s - cycle through the headings
• w - cycle backwards through the headings.

Online content

Our journal content has been published in both HTML and accessible PDF formats. Secondary content has been provided as HTML where possible and accessible PDFs where not.

Taylor & Francis accessibility information

Resource type: Journals

Web accessibility standard:

Instructions for screen reader and keyboard users:

To by-pass the 'Log in to My Westlaw UK Profile' box keyboard users need to tab back to the X to close it. Tabbing to Skip does not work. 

Screen reader users note that on the cases results page, the title of each reference is given a heading level, but access to the full text is by the case citation. The options to narrow results by Topics, Jurisdiction, Courts and Status are listed as headings. Go to the appropriate heading and then tab to access the options below. It is difficult to narrow by date. This option is available within Advanced Search.

The Searching within results box is labelled as Unlabeled1 Edit.

Resource type: Database, full text

Web accessibility standard: All pages delivered will be valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional, as defined by the W3C

Instructions for screen reader and keyboard users:

 

Link to Blackwell Reference Online accessibility information

Resource type: Database, some books and journals are full text