Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Geography, Environment and Sustainability

Resources for Geography, Environment and Sustainability

The Library provides a wide range of resources to support you in your research. 

Databases are one of the best types of resource to get familiar with.

We use the term ‘database’ to describe a searchable collections of online resources which contain items such as journal articles, books, and images. Using the databases recommended for your subject will help you find reliable information from trusted sources.

Databases

Subject specific databases:

Other recommended databases for your subject area:

The A-Z databases list provides access to all of our subscription Library databases and to selected Open Access resources.

Journals and articles

Most journals that we subscribe to are available electronically, although we have a small reference only collection of printed journals.  

To check if we have access to a specific journal (or to find journals related to a subject) you can use Journal title search.  From here you can use Search inside to search for articles within that journal.

In addition to using the key databases, you can also search for journal articles using Library Search (you can also select the Searching for information tab from the contents list of this page).  To find the articles available on the subject you are looking for, refine your search by selecting Journal articles from the Content type options.

Can't find the journal article that you are looking for?

Sometimes when doing research you come across an article in a journal that you are unable to access.  This is usually because the Library does not subscribe to that title and it is not available through Open Access. 

You can usually order copies of journal articles that are not included in our subscriptions through our Document Delivery service.