Library: Cyber Security: Databases, Journals and Articles

Resources for Cyber Security

The Library provides a wide range of resources to support you in your research.

Databases are one of the best types of resource to get familiar with.

We use the term ‘database’ to describe a searchable collections of online resources which contain items such as journal articles, books, and images. Using the databases recommended for your subject will help you find reliable information from trusted sources.

What are Articles, Journals and Databases and why are they important?

As a student in higher education your tutors will be looking for evidence that you have used a wide range of resources in your studies. Journals are one such resource. They can provide up to date, specialised information on topics which are not always found in books. There are two main types of journal.

Academic Journals for example:

International Journal of Web Information Systems

Trade, general and professional magazines for example:

IT Now
PC World

It is useful to understand how articles, journals and databases fit together,

Databases

The A-Z of Databases page provides access to all of our subscription Library databases so you can find the best resources for your research. You can locate the database you require by selecting the appropriate letter below, or select a subject from the Subject drop-down list to see all the recommended databases for that area. You can also use the Database Type drop-down list to show just Full-text databases, eBooks, articles etc.

Searching for articles on computing topics

You should be able to access eResources by following the links below and logging on with your usual Staffordshire University username and password (the details you use to logon to BlackBoard). If you need help accessing eResources there is help on the web site under eResources FAQ and eResources Help and advice
Full text articles that can be viewed, saved and printed using:

ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The full-text database includes the complete collection of ACM's publications, including journals, conference proceedings, magazines, newsletters, and multimedia titles.
Link: http://ezproxy.staffs.ac.uk/login?url=http://portal.acm.org/dl.cfm
Computer Database This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from more than 800 journals and periodicals, from Computerworld, eWeek and Wired to PC Magazine, PC World and Computer Weekly. Formerly known as Infotrac.
Link: http://ezproxy.staffs.ac.uk/login?url=http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/staffordshire?db=CDB
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Full text to the majority of the publications from IEEE . Includes thousands of articles and the IEEE/IET Electronic Library (IEL)
ScienceDirect - Elsevier This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect is a leading database of peer-reviewed science, technology and health information trusted by researchers, teachers and students around the globe.
Link: https://auth.elsevier.com/ShibAuth/institutionLogin?entityID=https%3A%2F%2Fshibboleth.staffs.ac.uk%2Fidp%2Fshibboleth&appReturnURL=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.sciencedirect.com/science/search
Alternative Link: Back up Login link

ScienceDirect Freedom Collection (pre-2000 subscribers):2012-2016:Year 3 - NESLi2
Statista
Statista.com is a leading provider of market and consumer data. It consolidates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources and content includes statistics, reports, outlooks and infrographics for a wide range of industries.

eResources FAQs and Help and advice

Kanopy
Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video platform that offers films and documentaries. Find movies, documentaries, foreign films, classic cinema, independent films and educational videos.

Login information:

- On the Kanopy page click the large orange "Log In to Staffs" button.

- On the page that follows, click on "Log In to Staffs" one more time.

- If prompted login with your normal credentials

If viewing via a mobile or tablet after you will need to create a Kanopy account and download the Kanopy App. Please see the information provided here: https://help.kanopy.com/en-us/4213.htm (link opens in new window)