Skip to Main Content

Engineering

Reading lists

Most modules have a reading list to support your studies with essential and recommended books and articles. Our new Reading Lists Online system allows you to easily access electronic content on the list and find out the latest status of print books - and request these through our Click and Collect service.

You should find a link to your reading list through Blackboard (or MS Teams if that is used for your module).  You can also access the system through the link below. On the Find Lists page you can search by your module title, module code or the name of your module leader.  

Books for your subject

If you are looking for items in the Library, the areas below are key shelf numbers for engineering books.

 

Subject Shelf number
Engineering maths 510.2462
Engineering design 620.0042
Mechanical engineering 621
Electrical engineering 621.3
Electronics 621.381
Telecommunications engineering          621.3822
Aeronautical engineering 629.13
Automotive engineering 629.2
Robotics 629.892

 

You can find specific books related to your subject area using Library Search (you can also select the Searching for information tab from the contents list of this page). 

Library Core (formerly Ashley 1 lecture theatres) houses our core collection which covers most subjects excluding creative/arts subjects. Nearly all of the English and Creative Writing books are housed here. Any print book can be reserved for collection here. 

Library Creative (Blackstone ground floor) houses our creative collection (most items with ‘700’ shelf numbers on the library catalogue but includes fashion also). It is open 24/7 and is located here so it is convenient for most creative subject delivery. Any print book can be reserved for collection here.

Library Centre for Excellence (Stafford BHL). Any print book can be reserved for collection here.

Library Catalyst (Click & Collect). Any print book can be reserved for collection here.

Guide to using ebooks

Ebooks are electronic versions of print texts and are available to you 24/7 from any device which is connected to the internet, so can be used anytime and anywhere both on and off campus. When we buy books we have a 'digital first' approach so you will find we have access to thousands of ebooks and many of the recommended resources on your reading lists will be available electronically.

Ebooks have a range of features to allow you to make notes, highlight text and change appearance to help make them more accessible to you.

Look at our detailed ebooks guide to learn more about the various ebook platforms we subscribe to and how you can make best use of each of these.

Subjects: Engineering