Skip to Main Content

E-Books Guide 2023

E-Books

The library service aims to make digital content available via online reading lists (Leganto). Ensuring resources are available has many positive impacts on user experience.

  • E-Books represent a large portion of our resources.
  • E-Books can be accessed at any time without having to come into the library. Full text searching helps to save time looking for relevant sections or quotes and its much easier to store multiple resources on your laptop or tablet than carrying them around campus.
  • E-Books are easy to find by filtering Library Search (Primo) and users can add notes, highlight text, download, and print sections following copyright and licensing agreements.

Some titles are restricted to 1 or 3 students at the same time where, access is time limited in a similar way to borrowing a physical text from the library. If the title times out, it can simply be re-borrowed, provided there is no queue ahead of you. Where possible the library will try to purchase unlimited licenses.

Downloading E-Books can vary slightly between eBook platforms. The three main platforms the library use via reading lists are E-Bookcentral, Kortext, VLE books.  Specific help and information for each of these platforms can be found in this Libguide.

Finding Individual E-Books

E-Books can be accessed via specific course reading lists (Leganto) and via library search (Primo).

When searching via Library search users can refine title search by using the faceted navigation on the left hand side of the search page. To select online resources:

Refine your search - Books

Format Available - Available Online

 

Instructional Video and Word Helpguide

E-Book Platforms

B

Blackstone's Police Manuals This link opens in a new window
 
Reference texts for the Police Promotion Examinations for the police service

C

Clarke's Analysis of Drugs and Poisons - Medicines Complete This link opens in a new window
 
The definitive source of analytical data for drugs and poisons. sections include: drugs and alcohol in driving, drugs in sport, workplace drug testing and postmortem toxicology.

For details of forthcoming changes to the platform please see our
eresource access problem guide
Creo Manufacturing for CAD/CAM ebooks This link opens in a new window
 
Series of ebooks detailing aspects of Creo Manufacturing for CAD/CAM

D

Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) This link opens in a new window
 
The Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) is a discovery service for Open Access monographs. DOAB provides a searchable index to peer-reviewed monographs and edited volumes published under an Open Access business model, with links to the full texts of the publications at the publisher’s website or repository.

E

eBooks on EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
 
Collection of ebooks specifically chosen to support Staffordshire University courses

F

FORENSICnetBASE / LawENFORCEMENTnetBASE This link opens in a new window
 

Featuring works by criminologists and forensic practitioners, this e-library provides references in crisis management and negotiation methods, arson and homicide investigation, expert witnessing, and forensic pathology
 

G

Google Books This link opens in a new window
 
If the book is out of copyright, or the publisher has given us permission, you'll be able to see a preview of the book, and in some cases the entire text. If it's in the public domain, you're free to download a PDF copy.

O

OAPEN online library and publication platform This link opens in a new window
 
OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
 
OECD iLibrary is the online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) featuring its books, papers and statistics and is the gateway to OECD’s analysis and data. It replaced SourceOECD in July 2010.

P

PsycBOOKS This link opens in a new window
 
A comprehensive collection of academic psychology ebooks.

*Please Note if the above link is not working try this alternative link 
(however the alternative link will not give you access to your saved searches)

S

Smashing Library ebook collection This link opens in a new window
 
The Smashing Library provides instant access to over 70 quality eBooks covering web design, mobile applications and design software, as well as exclusive first access to new books as they become published. With more than 24 new eBooks every year, the Smashing Library is constantly expanding.