Library: Philosophy: Databases, journals and articles

Journals and Databases

Art Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
Indexes articles in the Arts generally, many of which are full text.

*Please Note if the above link is not working try this alternative link
(however the alternative link will not give you access to your saved searches)
Arts & Humanities Database
Large collection of articles and ejournals in the Art, Design and Humanities subject area. Formerly known as Arts and Humanities Full-Text.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
JSTOR
This is an archival database of full text scholarly articles. There are no current journals within JSTOR but there is a wealth of material for retrospective research.
Scopus
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.

Please register for an individual account, as this gives you access to more personalised features including permissions to save and download searches.
Staffordshire University A-Z ejournal list
A comprehensive collection of all our ejournals by title.
To search for articles use Library Search

Kanopy
Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video platform that offers films and documentaries. Find movies, documentaries, foreign films, classic cinema, independent films and educational videos.

Login information:

- On the Kanopy page click the large orange "Log In to Staffs" button.

- On the page that follows, click on "Log In to Staffs" one more time.

- If prompted login with your normal credentials

If viewing via a mobile or tablet after you will need to create a Kanopy account and download the Kanopy App. Please see the information provided here: https://help.kanopy.com/en-us/4213.htm (link opens in new window)

Use this link to search for an e journal title

Once you have found the journal you want you can search within it for articles.

A LibGuide showing how to link your Google Scholar account to the University eresources and our link resolver (using Google Library Links). It happens automatically on campus due to the IP range being recognised, but this shows how to take it with you and link to it off campus - you can find it at Finding Information on Google Scholar

Sometimes when doing research you come across an article in a journal that you are unable to access. This is usually because the Library does not subscribe to that title. In these cases you can opt to use our Document Delivery Service.

A BoB playlist featuring a few selected programmes about Philosophy