Art and Design

Most modules have a reading list to support your studies with essential and recommended books and articles. Our new Reading Lists Online system allows you to easily access electronic content on the list and find out the latest status of print books - and request these through our Click and Collect service.

You should find a link to your reading list through Blackboard (or MS Teams if that is used for your module).  You can also access the system through the link below. On the Find Lists page you can search by your module title, module code or the name of your module leader.  

• Reading Lists Online

Most of the items you need can be found in The Creative Collection, which holds our Fashion titles at 391 and art books with class numbers 700 to 796. This collection has been specially designed to be a completely browsable area. It is found on the ground floor of the Cadman Building.

Subject                     Class number
Animation                  741.58 (Creative Collection - College Road)
Ceramics                   738 (Creative Collection - College Road)
CGI Programming     005.133 (Core Collection - Leek Road)
Comics                      741.5 (Creative Collection - College Road)
Crafts                         745 (Creative Collection - College Road)
Fashion                     391 (Creative Collection - College Road)
Graphic Design         741.6 (Creative Collection - College Road)
Interior Design          747 (Creative Collection - College Road)
Jewellery                  739 (Creative Collection - College Road)
Maya                       006.689 (Core Collection - Leek Road)
New Media              302.23 (Core Collection - Leek Road)
Photography            770 (Creative Collection - College Road)
Textile Design          746 (Creative Collection - College Road)

ebook platforms:

• Ebook Central 

  Ebrary is an academic collection of over 100,000 ebooks covering all subject areas.

• Met Publications 

  MetPublications is a portal to the Met's comprehensive book and online publishing program with close to 700 titles published from 1964 to the present. All available to view for FREE.

• VLeBooks

  Askews eBook platform, this is the platform where Dawsonera eBooks were moved to.

Ebooks are electronic versions of print texts and are available to you 24/7 from any device which is connected to the internet, so can be used anytime and anywhere both on and off campus. When we buy books we have a 'digital first' approach so you will find we have access to thousands of ebooks and many of the recommended resources on your reading lists will be available electronically.

Ebooks have a range of features to allow you to make notes, highlight text and change appearance to help make them more accessible to you.

Look at our detailed ebooks guide to learn more about the various ebook platforms we subscribe to and how you can make best use of each of these.