Library: History, Security and International Relations: Useful websites and links

Useful websites

American Museum of Natural History’s Research Library This link opens in a new window
Digital Special Collections of the American Museum of Natural History’s Research Library provides access to the rich collections of digitized archival photographic images, art and memorabilia images and Rare Book Collection illustrations
https://images.library.amnh.org/digital/

Archives Hub
Use the Archives Hub to find unique sources for your research. The Archives Hub enables you to search across descriptions of archives held at over 250 institutions across the UK.

Connected Histories This link opens in a new window
Connected Histories brings together a range of digital resources related to early modern and nineteenth century Britain with a single federated search that allows sophisticated searching of names, places and dates, as well as the ability to save, connect and share resources within a personal workspace.

Georgian Britain - The British Library
Discover prints, drawings and documents, as well as informative articles, which delve into the lives of the Georgians.

History Online This link opens in a new window
History Online aims to offer a comprehensive service for the history community in UK Higher Education, providing information not just about resources for historians but also about the history profession.

BBC News : Poliltics
The Center for Security Studies (ETH Zürich)
The CSS promotes understanding of security policy challenges as a contribution to a more peaceful world. Its work is independent, practice-relevant, and based on a sound academic footing.
The Economist : Europe
European Parliament
Foreign Policy Magazine : Net Effect
GOV.UK
International Political Science Association (IPSA)
Lancaster Index to Defence and International Security Literature
The Lancaster Index is an on-line bibliographic database, indexed and cross-referenced, of journal articles and monographs dealing with military and security affairs. It does not provide full text of proprietary source material.
Political Studies Association
Since 1950, the objectives of our Association have been ‘to promote the development of political studies and to encourage education and the advancement of learning in the art and science of government and in other branches of the political sciences’.
UK Foreign, Commonwealth & Development Office
UK Parliament
The World Factbook (US Central Intelligence Agency)
The World Factbook provides basic intelligence on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, environment, communications, transportation, military, terrorism, and transnational issues for 266 world entities.

BoB is Learning on Screen’s on demand TV and radio service for education.

Staff and students can record programmes from over 75 free-to-air channels; and search an archive of over 2.2 million broadcasts.

Watch, record, create clips, search for upcoming programmes by title or keyword, and compile favourite shows into playlists.

View our playlists containing selected programmes for your subject:

You may use information from websites to support your work but beware! Anyone can write a web page. You must assess its quality and integrity.

Scope - What is the purpose of the site - education, advertising, entertainment? Is there any bias?
Depth - What is the level of detail provided about the subject? This may depend on the kind of audience for which the resource has been designed.
Content - Is the information fact or opinion? Does the site contain original information or simply links? Can the information be verified? Does it tell you the date it was last updated?
Links – Are links kept up to date and made to appropriate resources? The number of links still working may help indicate how well a site is maintained.
Authority - What is the authority, expertise or credentials of the author? Who is hosting the site? Check the web address for clues: e.g. .ac.uk indicates it is a UK university which is likely to make this a trustworthy site. Government sites can be recognised by .gov - once again a reliable source.