Library: History, Security and International Relations: Databases, journals and articles

Resources

The Library provides a wide range of resources to support you in your research.

Databases are one of the best types of resource to get familiar with.

We use the term ‘database’ to describe a searchable collection of online resources which contains items such as journal articles, books, and images. Using the databases recommended for your subject will help you find reliable information from trusted sources.

Databases

Subject specific databases:

Arts & Humanities Database This link opens in a new window
Large collection of articles and ejournals in the Art, Design and Humanities subject area. Formerly known as Arts and Humanities Full-Text.
Link: http://search.proquest.com/artshumanities/shibboleth?accountid=17254
Alternative link: http://ezproxy.staffs.ac.uk/login?url=http://search.proquest.com/artshumanities/accountid=17254
Connected Histories This link opens in a new window
Connected Histories brings together a range of digital resources related to early modern and nineteenth century Britain with a single federated search that allows sophisticated searching of names, places and dates, as well as the ability to save, connect and share resources within a personal workspace.
JSTOR Archival Journals and Primary Sources Collection This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library of journals, academic ebooks, images, and primary sources.
The collections include top peer-reviewed scholarly journals as well as respected literary journals, academic monographs, research reports from trusted institutes, and diverse primary sources. JSTOR is part of ITHAKA, a not-for-profit organization that also includes Ithaka S+R and Portico.
Journals
JSTOR contains the full-text of more than 2,800 journals from 1,200 publishers, with publication dates ranging from 1665 to 2020 (for certain titles). Journals are available in more than 75 disciplines in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences and mathematics.
Ebooks
JSTOR contains more than 150,000 ebooks from academic publishers. The ebooks work just like journals, offering unlimited use and DRM-free chapter downloads in PDF format.
Primary Sources
The primary source collections currently available on JSTOR are multidisciplinary and discipline-specific and include select monographs, pamphlets, manuscripts, letters, oral histories, government documents, images, 3D models, spatial data, type specimens, drawings, paintings, and more.
Login Link: https://shibboleth2sp.jstor.org/Shibboleth.sso/Login?entityID=https%3A%2F%2Fshibboleth.staffs.ac.uk%2Fidp%2Fshibboleth&target=https%3A%2F%2Fshibboleth2sp.jstor.org%2Fshib%3Fdest%3Dhttp%253A%252F%252Fwww.jstor.org%252Fshibboleth

Alternative login: http://ezproxy.staffs.ac.uk/login?url=http://www.jstor.org
Migration to New Worlds This link opens in a new window
Migration to New Worlds explores the movement of peoples from Great Britain, Ireland, mainland Europe and Asia to the New World and Australasia. Split across two modules, and including collections from 26 archives, libraries and museums, Migration to New Worlds brings together the movement and memories of millions across two centuries of mass migration.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.

Note: Please register for an individual account, as this gives you access to more personalised features including permissions to save and download searches.
U.K. Parliamentary Papers (formerly House of Commons Parliamentary Papers) This link opens in a new window
Provides full text of parliamentary papers from 18, 19 and 20th century.
Vogue Archive This link opens in a new window
A complete searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month. Every page, advertisement, cover and fold-out has been included, preserving the work of the world's greatest fashion designers, stylists and photographers.

Other recommended databases for your subject area:

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) This link opens in a new window
This service covers free, full text, quality controlled scholarly journals.
Kanopy
Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video platform that offers films and documentaries. Find movies, documentaries, foreign films, classic cinema, independent films and educational videos.

Login information:

- On the Kanopy page click the large orange "Log In to Staffs" button.

- On the page that follows, click on "Log In to Staffs" one more time.

- If prompted login with your normal credentials

If viewing via a mobile or tablet after you will need to create a Kanopy account and download the Kanopy App. Please see the information provided here: https://help.kanopy.com/en-us/4213.htm (link opens in new window)
Newspapers - Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Global Newsstream enables users to search the most recent global news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring content from newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format. This product provides one of the largest collections of news from the US, Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. All titles are cross-searchable on the ProQuest platform allowing researchers easy access to multiple perspectives, resources, and languages on the topic they are researching.
Includes European Newstream as well.
Coverage: 1980 - current
Link: http://search.proquest.com/europeannews/shibboleth?accountid=17254

The A-Z databases list provides access to all of our subscription Library databases and to selected Open Access resources.

Journals and articles

Most journals that we subscribe to are available electronically, although we have a small reference only collection of printed journals.

To check if we have access to a specific journal (or to find journals related to a subject) you can use Journal title search. From here you can use Search inside to search for articles within that journal.

In addition to using the key databases, you can also search for journal articles using Library Search (you can also select the Searching for information tab from the contents list of this page). To find the articles available on the subject you are looking for, refine your search by selecting Journal articles from the Content type options.

European journal of international relations
The European Journal of International Relations (EJIR) is the peer-reviewed flagship journal of the ECPR Standing Group on International Relations (SGIR) and the European International Studies Association (EISA).
International History Review
Publishes research on the history of international relations and the history of international thought, including history of conflicts, diplomacy and more.
International Relations
International Relations is explicitly pluralist in outlook. Editorial policy favours variety in both subject-matter and method, at a time when so many academic journals are increasingly specialised in scope, and sectarian in approach.
Journal of contemporary history
The Journal of Contemporary History publishes articles covering a broad range of historical approaches including social, economic, political, diplomatic, intellectual and cultural

A-Z lists of journal titles related to:

Can't find the journal article that you are looking for?

Sometimes when doing research you come across an article in a journal that you are unable to access. This is usually because the Library does not subscribe to that title and it is not available through Open Access.

You can usually order copies of journal articles that are not included in our subscriptions through our Document Delivery service.

History, Security and International Relations

Resources

Databases

Subject specific databases:

Journals

Ebooks

Primary Sources

Other recommended databases for your subject area:

Journals and articles

Can't find the journal article that you are looking for?