International Studies and History

Most modules have a reading list to support your studies with essential and recommended books and articles. Our new Reading Lists Online system allows you to easily access electronic content on the list and find out the latest status of print books - and request these through our Click and Collect service.

You should find a link to your reading list through Blackboard (or MS Teams if that is used for your module).  You can also access the system through the link below. On the Find Lists page you can search by your module title, module code or the name of your module leader.  

• Reading Lists Online

We organise books on the shelves in subject order using the Dewey Decimal System.  Books on the same subject have the same number (the class number) and this tells you exactly where the item will be located.

The books are arranged in numerical order first by class number, then in alphabetical order by author.  Each book has a label on its spine displaying the number followed by the first three letters of the author's last name.

Selected class numbers in the library for are:

You can find specific books related to your subject area using Library Search (you can also select the Searching for information tab from the contents list of this page). 

Library Core (formerly Ashley 1 lecture theatres) houses our core collection which covers most subjects excluding creative/arts subjects. Nearly all of the English and Creative Writing books are housed here. Any print book can be reserved for collection here. 

Library Creative (Blackstone ground floor) houses our creative collection (most items with ‘700’ shelf numbers on the library catalogue but includes fashion also). It is open 24/7 and is located here so it is convenient for most creative subject delivery. Any print book can be reserved for collection here.

Library Centre for Excellence (Stafford BHL). Any print book can be reserved for collection here.

Library Catalyst (Click & Collect). Any print book can be reserved for collection here.

As well as printed books, we also have thousands of online books available.  These are high-quality academic texts that supplement our print collection. 

Subject specific online books:

Other online books can be found using Library Search (you can also select the Searching for information tab from the contents list of this page). 

To see if there is an online book on a subject you are looking for, you can refine your search by:

1. Selecting Books from the Content type options
2. Selecting Available online from the Format available as options

For more information on finding, accessing and using online books, please refer to our guide.

The ability to find additional appropriate resources for yourself is a skill that will help you to become a more independent learner.  A deeper understanding of your subject will give you confidence when tackling your assignments and should lead to better grades.

Look at the guide Academic reading which will help you to develop and perfect your reading skills.  

Sometimes when doing research you may come across a book that you are unable to find using Library Search.  

You can usually request the loan of a book that is not currently stocked by our libraries through our Document Delivery service.  

Ebooks are electronic versions of print texts and are available to you 24/7 from any device which is connected to the internet, so can be used anytime and anywhere both on and off campus. When we buy books we have a 'digital first' approach so you will find we have access to thousands of ebooks and many of the recommended resources on your reading lists will be available electronically.

Ebooks have a range of features to allow you to make notes, highlight text and change appearance to help make them more accessible to you.

Look at our detailed ebooks guide to learn more about the various ebook platforms we subscribe to and how you can make best use of each of these.