Library: Psychology and Counselling: Databases, journals and articles

Resources for Psychology and Counselling

The Library provides a wide range of resources to support you in your research.

Databases are one of the best types of resource to get familiar with.

We use the term ‘database’ to describe a searchable collection of online resources which contains items such as journal articles, books, and images. Using the databases recommended for your subject will help you find reliable information from trusted sources.

Databases

Subject specific databases:

PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
Covers psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines.

*Please Note if the above link is not working try this alternative link
(however the alternative link will not give you access to your saved searches)
Login link: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=shib&custid=s7383539&profile=ehost&defaultdb=pdh

Alternative Link: http://ezproxy.staffs.ac.uk/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=pdh

On campus link (if login not working): http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=pdh
PsycBOOKS This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of academic psychology ebooks.

*Please Note if the above link is not working try this alternative link
(however the alternative link will not give you access to your saved searches)
Login link: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=shib&custid=s7383539&profile=ehost&defaultdb=pzh

Alternative link: http://ezproxy.staffs.ac.uk/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=pzh

On Campus link (if login not working): http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=pzh
PsycINFO 1887-Current This link opens in a new window
Abstract and index database for the Psychology subject (not fulltext)

** Please Note if the above link is not working try this alternative link
(however the alternative link will not give you access to your saved searches)
Login link: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=shib&custid=s7383539&profile=ehost&defaultdb=psyh

Alternative Link: http://ezproxy.staffs.ac.uk/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=psyh

Other recommended databases for your subject area:

Biomedical & Life Sciences Collection (HSTalks) This link opens in a new window
Online lectures by leading experts in various medical and biomedical disciplines. Alongside viewing the recorded lectures, users can download the slides as pdfs. Suitable for distant and independent learning. For Psychology there are videos around Neurology.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Full text of nursing and allied health journals indexed in the CINAHL database dating back to 1937 and expanded content.

*Please Note if the above link is not working try this alternative link
(however the alternative link will not give you access to your saved searches)
Login Link: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=shib&custid=s7383539&profile=ehost&defaultdb=rzh

Alternative link: http://ezproxy.staffs.ac.uk/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=rzh
Cogprints This link opens in a new window
Welcome to CogPrints, an electronic archive for self-archive papers in any area of Psychology, Neuroscience, and Linguistics, and many areas of Computer Science. Contains some free open papers.
JoVE This link opens in a new window
JoVE is the world-leading producer and provider of science videos with the mission to improve scientific research and education. There are over 14,000 videos of laboratory methods and scientific concepts included. We subscribe to the whole JoVE collection.
JSTOR Archival Journals and Primary Sources Collection This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library of journals, academic ebooks, images, and primary sources.
The collections include top peer-reviewed scholarly journals as well as respected literary journals, academic monographs, research reports from trusted institutes, and diverse primary sources. JSTOR is part of ITHAKA, a not-for-profit organization that also includes Ithaka S+R and Portico.
Journals
JSTOR contains the full-text of more than 2,800 journals from 1,200 publishers, with publication dates ranging from 1665 to 2020 (for certain titles). Journals are available in more than 75 disciplines in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences and mathematics.
Ebooks
JSTOR contains more than 150,000 ebooks from academic publishers. The ebooks work just like journals, offering unlimited use and DRM-free chapter downloads in PDF format.
Primary Sources
The primary source collections currently available on JSTOR are multidisciplinary and discipline-specific and include select monographs, pamphlets, manuscripts, letters, oral histories, government documents, images, 3D models, spatial data, type specimens, drawings, paintings, and more.
Login Link: https://shibboleth2sp.jstor.org/Shibboleth.sso/Login?entityID=https%3A%2F%2Fshibboleth.staffs.ac.uk%2Fidp%2Fshibboleth&target=https%3A%2F%2Fshibboleth2sp.jstor.org%2Fshib%3Fdest%3Dhttp%253A%252F%252Fwww.jstor.org%252Fshibboleth

Alternative login: http://ezproxy.staffs.ac.uk/login?url=http://www.jstor.org
Kanopy
Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video platform that offers films and documentaries. Find movies, documentaries, foreign films, classic cinema, independent films and educational videos.

Login information:

- On the Kanopy page click the large orange "Log In to Staffs" button.

- On the page that follows, click on "Log In to Staffs" one more time.

- If prompted login with your normal credentials

If viewing via a mobile or tablet after you will need to create a Kanopy account and download the Kanopy App. Please see the information provided here: https://help.kanopy.com/en-us/4213.htm (link opens in new window)
Newspapers - Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Global Newsstream enables users to search the most recent global news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring content from newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format. This product provides one of the largest collections of news from the US, Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. All titles are cross-searchable on the ProQuest platform allowing researchers easy access to multiple perspectives, resources, and languages on the topic they are researching.
Includes European Newstream as well.
Coverage: 1980 - current
Link: http://search.proquest.com/europeannews/shibboleth?accountid=17254
SAGE Research Methods
SAGE Research Methods is the ultimate methods library with more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences, including the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any scholarly publisher.
ScienceDirect - Elsevier This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect is a leading database of peer-reviewed science, technology and health information trusted by researchers, teachers and students around the globe.
Link: https://auth.elsevier.com/ShibAuth/institutionLogin?entityID=https%3A%2F%2Fshibboleth.staffs.ac.uk%2Fidp%2Fshibboleth&appReturnURL=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.sciencedirect.com/science/search
Alternative Link: Back up Login link

ScienceDirect Freedom Collection (pre-2000 subscribers):2012-2016:Year 3 - NESLi2
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.

Note: Please register for an individual account, as this gives you access to more personalised features including permissions to save and download searches.

The A-Z databases list provides access to all of our subscription Library databases and to selected Open Access resources.

Journals and articles

Most journals that we subscribe to are available electronically, although we have a small reference only collection of printed journals.

To check if we have access to a specific journal (or to find journals related to a subject) you can use Journal title search. From here you can use Search inside to search for articles within that journal.

In addition to using the key databases, you can also search for journal articles using Library Search (you can also select the Searching for information tab from the contents list of this page). To find the articles available on the subject you are looking for, refine your search by selecting Journal articles from the Content type options.

British Journal of Psychology
The British Journal of Psychology publishes original research on all aspects of general psychology including cognition; health and clinical psychology; developmental, social and occupational psychology.
Counselling Psychology Quarterly
Counselling Psychology Quarterly is an international interdisciplinary journal presenting empirical research articles, research-based systematic reviews, and exceptionally research-informed conceptual papers, which are relevant to counselling psychology as a scientific discipline and profession.
Theory and Psychology
Theory & Psychology is a fully peer-reviewed bi-monthly forum for theoretical and meta-theoretical analysis in psychology. The journal focuses on the emergent themes at the centre of contemporary psychological debate.

An A-Z list of journal titles related to psychology

Can't find the journal article that you are looking for?

Sometimes when doing research you come across an article in a journal that you are unable to access. This is usually because the Library does not subscribe to that title and it is not available through Open Access.

You can usually order copies of journal articles that are not included in our subscriptions through our Request a Digital Copy service or via our Document Delivery service.

Psychology and Counselling

Resources for Psychology and Counselling

Databases

Subject specific databases:

Other recommended databases for your subject area:

Journals

Ebooks

Primary Sources

Journals and articles

Can't find the journal article that you are looking for?