Library: Acting and Drama: Databases

Resources

The Library provides a wide range of resources to support you in your research.

Databases are one of the best types of resource to get familiar with.

We use the term ‘database’ to describe a searchable collections of online resources which contain items such as journal articles, books, and images. Using the databases recommended for your subject will help you find reliable information from trusted sources.

Key databases

Drama Online
The award-winning Drama Online brings together plays, audio plays, scholarly books, and video in one seamless platform.
Explore:
2300 playtexts
400 audio plays
300 scholarly books
250 hours of video content

Includes content from Nick Hern Books : Modern Plays (all content)
and
Bloomsbury Drama Online : Core Collection (all content)
National Theatre 1 and 2
National Theatre Collection: Volumes I & II bring the stage to life through access to high-definition streaming video of world-class productions and unique archival material offering significant insight into theatre and performance studies. Through a collaboration with the U.K.'s National Theatre, the collections offer a range of digital performance resources never previously seen outside of the National Theatre’s archive.
Art Full Text (H.W. Wilson)

Indexes articles in the Arts generally, many of which are full text.

*Please Note if the above link is not working try this alternative link

(however the alternative link will not give you access to your saved searches)

Arts & Humanities Database

Large collection of articles and ejournals in the Art, Design and Humanities subject area. Formerly known as Arts and Humanities Full-Text.
Performing Arts Database

Provides the full text of current articles from over 100 journals, including American Theatre, Dance Chronicle,Dance Teacher, Theatre Journal, Theatre Survey, Opera News and more. Formerly known as International Index to Performing Arts (IIPA)
JSTOR

This is an archival database of full text scholarly articles. There are no current journals within JSTOR but there is a wealth of material for retrospective research.
Newspapers - Global Newsstream

Global Newsstream enables users to search the most recent global news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring content from newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format. This product provides one of the largest collections of news from the US, Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. All titles are cross-searchable on the ProQuest platform allowing researchers easy access to multiple perspectives, resources, and languages on the topic they are researching.
Includes European Newstream as well.
Coverage: 1980 - current
Screen Studies

Includes:
- The AFI Catalog, the authoritative resource of American film information.
- FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals (includes some full text)
- Film Index International

Box of Broadcasts (BoB) This link opens in a new window
Watch, record, create clips, search for upcoming programmes by title or keyword, compile favourite shows into playlists and share them with others.
Only available in the UK

For information on the forthcoming scheduled maintainance please see eresource access problem guide
Kanopy
Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video platform that offers films and documentaries. Find movies, documentaries, foreign films, classic cinema, independent films and educational videos.

Login information:

- On the Kanopy page click the large orange "Log In to Staffs" button.

- On the page that follows, click on "Log In to Staffs" one more time.

- If prompted login with your normal credentials

If viewing via a mobile or tablet after you will need to create a Kanopy account and download the Kanopy App. Please see the information provided here: https://help.kanopy.com/en-us/4213.htm (link opens in new window)

Search Google Scholar

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.

Linking Google Scholar to your University account

Databases

The A-Z of Databases page provides access to all of our subscription Library databases so you can find the best resources for your research. You can locate the database you require by selecting the appropriate letter below, or select a subject from the Subject drop-down list to see all the recommended databases for that area. You can also use the Database Type drop-down list to show just Full-text databases, eBooks, articles etc.