The Library provides a wide range of resources to support you in your research.
Databases are one of the best types of resource to get familiar with.
We use the term ‘database’ to describe a searchable collections of online resources which contain items such as journal articles, books, and images. Using the databases recommended for your subject will help you find reliable information from trusted sources.
Note: Please register for an individual account, as this gives you access to more personalised features including permissions to save and download searches.
If viewing via a mobile or tablet after you will need to create a Kanopy account and download the Kanopy App. Please see the information provided here: https://help.kanopy.com/en-us/4213.htm (link opens in new window)
The A-Z databases list provides access to all of our subscription Library databases and to selected Open Access resources.
As a student in higher education your tutors will be looking for evidence that you have used a wide range of resources in your studies. Journals are one such resource. They can provide up to date, specialised information on topics which are not always found in books.
Most journals that we subscribe to are available electronically, although we have a small reference only collection of printed journals.
To check if we have access to a specific journal (or to find journals related to a subject) you can use Journal title search. From here you can use Search inside to search for articles within that journal.
In addition to using the key databases, you can also search for journal articles using Library Search (you can also select the Searching for information tab from the contents list of this page). To find the articles available on the subject you are looking for, refine your search by selecting Journal articles from the Content type options.
A full A-Z list of journal titles related to Health and Biological Sciences - this is broken down into specific subject areas.
A-Z lists for selected subject areas:
Sometimes when doing research you come across an article in a journal that you are unable to access. This is usually because the Library does not subscribe to that title and it is not available through Open Access.
You can usually order copies of journal articles that are not included in our subscriptions through our Document Delivery service.