Skip to main content

Current issues guide: Medline

Medline alternative

We are currently experiencing problems accessing MEDLINE via the EBSCO HOST platform. 

As an alternative we would recommend you use Pubmed.

Please see the comparison between the two:

 

What is PubMed? What is Medline?
Online version of Index Medicus produced by the US National Library of Medicine (NLM).
 
Freely available on the Internet.
A subset of PubMed (actually about 98%) made available by NLM to commercial suppliers.
 
Available by subscription through a number of interfaces. At Staffs we have the EBSCO interface.
Coverage of PubMed Coverage of Medline
Back to 1966 and selectively to 1809.
Contains over 25 million records. In addition to Medline, Pubmed contains: 
 
1. 'in process' citations
2. some older citations
3. citations to non-medical journals
4. citations to ebooks
 
Some free full text (PubMed Central) Subject coverage = medical, biomedical & life sciences.
 
Back to 1946.
Contains over 22 million records from 5, 600 mainly US journals.
 
Subject coverage = medical & biomedical sciences.
Searching PubMed Searching Medline
Easy keyword searching and automatic mapping to MeSH terms.
 
No subheading selection.
 
Results may be limited to reviews and full text. 'Clinical Queries' allows searching for clinical trials, systematic reviews and medical genetics topics

Advanced Search offers guided mapping of keywords to MeSH terms

Search topics may be limited by selecting subheadings

Various limiters, including EBM Reviews and types of clinical query.

Other Features of PubMed Other Features of Medline

'Related citations', including highlighting of review articles.  Link from a particular result to systematic reviews referencing that study. 

Register with 'My NCBI' to save searches, set up alerts & customise filters

Citations may be exported to EndNote.
'Find Similar' and 'Find Citing Articles'.
 
Register to save searches, create email alerts & RSS feeds.
 
Citations may be exported to EndNote.
Use PubMed: Use Medline:
If you are unable to access subscription databases.
For easy keyword searching (automatically maps to MeSH).
For clinical queries.
For genetics topics.
To be offered related citations and links to systematic reviews citing a study.
For guided MeSH subject searching.
 
For extensive medical subheadings and other search limiting options.